Cell Phone Radiation on Brain

in #science6 years ago


Source: onlinesense.org (above 2 photos)

This is a response to a comment by @jimmydore on a post. Here's a link to the post.

https://steemit.com/science/@outwalking/countries-banning-wifi#@jimmydore/re-outwalking-countries-banning-wifi-20180326t120546733z

Here's @jimmydore's comment.

Questioning the status quo is one thing, spreading paranoia is counterproductive. I am very sceptical about the claims that you make in this post, and I look forward to see the links to the studies you base the article on, including the "heat-maps". I have an inkling that they have been grossly taken out of context in the process of making it onto your post.

All technology that makes it to the market has been tested and over-tested on our murine and primates cousins, at levels/intensities well beyond anything we'll ever encounter in our daily life. Respect their sacrifice...

Never the less , human greed can never be underestimated, so please post the source of the data your article is based on. Thanks!

I understand your skepticism and the reason I posted this article was not an attempt to spread paranoia. Your comment warranted a reply containing more information than I would like to fit into a 'comment' reply so I felt a new post would be better.

Your comment was appreciated and it is understood that with so many studies find both pros and cons on the effects of cell phone radiation, it is difficult to reach a conclusion. I suppose that one could develop a case for either side.

I did a search on 'cell phone radiation effects on the brain' to find what I would consider an unbiased and purely scientific study. Here's a link to one I found to seem unbiased.

http://onlinesense.org/mobile-phone-affects-brain/

Here's the link to my search, I included this for your review. You may have a different opinion on which articles / studies are unbiased.

https://www.startpage.com/do/asearch

Pondering the science which based on empirical findings, the radiation emitted by a cell phone is mircowave radiation. We know what happens to biological tissue that is exposed to microwaves, they heat up. As a side note, microwaves cause the atoms or molecules in the tissue to vibrate at a faster rate. This increased vibration causes the tissue to generate heat.

Children's skull bone mass is still maturating and does not shield their brain as well as does an adults. It makes sense that more of the radiation penetrates the child's brain tissue resulting in higher temperatures.

I am not claiming to be an expert so your research can produce a diametrically opposed conclusion. If one such conclusion is reached, I would be interested in learning about it.

Sort:  

Just scratching beneath the surface I found:

  • a vast collection of related materials from Environmental Health Trust ... some of questionable quality.
  • lots, and lots of photoshopped stock photography (not science)
  • various pseudoscientific mambo-jumbo snake oil salesmen e.g.: VERACASS "Wellness Technology".
  • and one scientific paper "EEG Changes Due to Experimentally Induced 3G Mobile Phone Radiation" (Roggeveen et al., 2015)

Make of it what you will.

I appreciate sharing them with me. I will see what they have.

Cellphones are so bad. I'm going off the grid soon I think other than my laptop which will just make my crotch glow for a while.

I haven't had a cell phone for over 2 years. I use my old phone as a mp3 player. BTW, that's why I can't get on telegram.

The amount of absorbed radiation from cell phones is negligible. It's not even ionizing radiation. You get more radiation damage from a day at the beach than you do from 1000 hours of talking on the phone.

My I ask if there are any studies backing your comment? I would be interested it reading them. Thank you for the comment.

One thing that I find at least as despicable as putting profits before safety and health or lax scientific rigour, or incompetence and the inability to come up with sound answers to medical ailments is: taking advantage of those who are suffering and making profits from their inability to discern in the often desperate situations they find themselves in.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59276.59
ETH 2464.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44