You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The slippery slope of AI

in #science7 years ago

It is amazing to see the advances. Google's Go bot was in the news. Now it learns simply buy playing itself!!! Scary. It plat almost 5 million games of Go against itself in 3 days.
http://www.npr.org/sections/thetwo-way/2017/10/18/558519095/computer-learns-to-play-go-at-superhuman-levels-without-human-knowledge

Sort:  

Thank you for bringing up that article, I missed it. Some of the advancements in AI are truly amazing.

Indeed. It is especially true in this case that takes the learning from "watching" humans play out of the equation. Amazing and scary all at the same time!

Scary indeed. That's my biggest fear. Did you ever see 'West world'? I know that was just fiction, my fear is that it was actually faction.

Never saw it but you are in good company with you concerns...like Elon Musk and Stephen Hawking.

In short, 'West World' was about a fantasy park staffed by automatons. Patrons could fulfill their dreams (e.g. like a dual at high noon). The robots went awry and started killing the patrons.

I'm not sure if I like being in the company of Elon but I'm okay with Stephen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59989.12
ETH 2380.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49