You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Double-Blind Violins: Towards A More Objective Selection

in #science7 years ago (edited)

Awesome, my brother is building guitars and I'm tuning piano's. Here you can see also an older version where I tuned to 416Hz.

But there's a very important thing being overlooked maybe; tuning! I tune to 432hz and I love it. I have been looking for years no for satisfying scientific explanations but I haven't found any.
I'm not sure there has been a double blind study done on 432Hz but you can also listen to violins tuned to 432Hz and they sound amazing to me. Much better than those in the studies.

Maybe one that suggested birds use this pitch as an anchor but it was just a one shot.

Sort:  

Nice, 432 Hz is one of the secrets. :)

I thought Stradivarius was meant to be played tuned to 432Hz...

Oh, it very well could be, I don't know much about those instruments. I meant that's how most instruments were tuned, before the 40s when several countries agreed on the 440 Hz standard, which isn't divisible by 3, in other words, 432 Hz allows for more harmonies.

440 Hz is more dissonant, and causes us to be more warlike, hence the 20th century.

You can modulate music tuned to 440 Hz to 432 Hz, and it sounds nicer. I know of several musicians who write 432 Hz music, Brian T. Collins being one of them. Also the songs "Three Little Birds" and "One Love" by Bob Marley, and "Imagine" by John Lennon, used the 432 Hz tuning as well.

Thanks, I know Brain Collins' work, I like it.

However Imagine is not in 432Hz!

Hmm. That's what I read a few years back. I don't have an ear for it unfortunately.

Most of us can't hear it but we can feel it...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50