I just Welded mechanical pencil lead at apartment!

in #science6 years ago (edited)

Kids Do Not Try This At Home

I love playing with #electricity so i borrowed my 30V 10A PSU and started thinking what can i do with it. Welding! but what material? Thats when i saw the lead box. But there's a problem, It can't actually be welded. It doesn't melt. Nothing can stop me so i started experiencing. At first i just attached the lead to two alligator clips and it just sparked for a short period (It was so bright that i just thought that the sun is in front of me:)). Then i attached another one to the other clip and by touching these to lead they make continues sparks and a lots of heat, I mean a lot.

How welding works?

Every material has a resistance to electricity. That means if we attache two sides of a battery to the material it will use some of electricity and convert(!) it to heat and can be calculated by " V=I.R " (Ohm's law). So we can use this heat to Melt the material and that makes it to stick really good to the weld spot.

As you can see the leads are so hot that they are glowing red.

https://dlive.io/video/musefsadri/15b42dc0-6d6e-11e8-8587-fb4bcb1f0470

Sort:  

Nice works but I think you should Consider building a workshop soon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59025.51
ETH 2591.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47