You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mineral Mondays #11: Hanksite

in #science7 years ago

I'm a geology student, and I'd never even heard of hanksite before! I probably shouldn't be surprised at not knowing about an unusual mineral, though, given the crazy number of minerals in existence. Super cool stuff!

Sort:  

Being a geology student I'm sure you'd eventually get to it, especially learning about evaporite minerals of the mojave desert. And yes, tons of minerals!

Haven't spent a lot of time on basin geology yet- I'm up in Oregon, so focusing a lot more on volcanics, etc. Getting to basins this year, though!

We're lucky to be here out on the west coast with all this amazing geology. The cinder cones out in the Mojave always trip me out when I drive by them. Looking at google maps at the lava flows all over the place is cool too. Maybe in another life I would have been a geologist.

Enjoy your schooling!

I mean, it's never too late to start- there's several middle aged people in my program at school, and one guy in his 70s.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64741.88
ETH 3457.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55