You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vaccination: The Dangerous Myth that will Kill, Part 5 of 5

in #science7 years ago

Hey, thanks for taking the time to address this highly contentious issue -- and relatively objectively at that. I am glad that you appreciate nuance within this subject (e.g. not stating that there are only positives, or dismissing others entirely, as adverse reactions can and may occur due to allergies or unforeseen immunological complications).

When I read the headline I thought to myself "Great, another conspiratorial headline to exploit fear for clicks Alex Jones style..." though, upon further inspection you actually did your homework. I appreciate that, and especially the citations that come from reputable, peer-reviewed sources. Glad to see others in the STEM fields on Steemit!

Remember, folks: Vaccines cause adults.
And if you like SMBC comics, remember that autism causes vaccines:

Sort:  

I tried to make the title click-baity enough to attempt to get some of the vaccine conspiracy people. I am glad that you read the article before commenting or creating a complete opinion (it happens sometimes) and would welcome you, if you write STEM related topics, to look into the steemstem group. (advertising over)

I did want to, at some point, go over specific vaccine case studies where they are not exactly perfect such as the anthrax vaccine trials and the on-going debate surrounding the varicella vaccine (chickenpox) but overall I just wanted to get information out there, on steemit, to try and build up a community of people that can call out the antivaccers.

Thank you for the info, I will check that group out! I am in the biotechnology field and it never ceases to amaze me what kind of dubious information you'll see online. Cheers for keeping it legitimate!

If you are interested in case studies on vaccines check out the immunization that was developed for Lyme disease; LYMErix™. This review (https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2870557/) offers a cautionary tale into public communication surrounding vaccine development and implementation.

Looking forward to seeing more!

I immediately loved that you made the title intentionally ambiguous, well done!

I am glad you enjoyed it

not gonna lie, the title sounds like an anti-vaxx article, and I almost face palmed. I'm glad their are other scientists on steemit

That was kind of the intent. Antivaccers like reading stuff that supports their ideas, I am trying to draw them in. I too am glad there are others that enjoy science on here.

Science is a religion, and this post is clearly in the wrong category. Only in America are people afraid of chicken pox lol

What? Science is a field of study that involved rigorous testing. Religion is a belief system that cannot be tested to determine if it is true or now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53776.88
ETH 2232.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30