Maker Library network event (encouraging the young generation to participate in science and technology)

in #science7 years ago

Last night I had the privilege to attend and showcase some of the designs I worked on with my student engineers. The event was organised by Geekulcha and the Innovation Hub (South Africa - Pretoria). Maker Library Network is a British Council Connect project started basically to connect makers, designers and innovators all over the world. The theme of the event was "Tools to accelerate innovation".

Image credit
I was amazed by some of the innovations this young boys and girls designed from scratch. The level of technology they are exposed to and the fun they have with electronics.


That is me getting ready to show off our Self-balancing robot and quardcopter all designed from scratch (I will later share the designs and full coding).


That is me showing off our Self-balancing robot designed with an Arduino and controlled via bluetooth from an Android app.


Our quardcorpter which is still under construction was also on display



This young lady only 20 years old designed her own 3D printer from scratch..."Girl power".



There were guys who are into "Wearables technology" they embed electronics into the clothing. It seems will be working together as they requested a mobile app that will control all the electronics in the T-shirt via bluetooth and even stream audio to the T-shirt speakers.


All images credit to Geekulcha

Sort:  

Love seeing people be involved in community and building. We need more of this in schools.

@natek I am very much involved...every hackerthon, Maker Libraries and SA innovation summits, you name it, I am there...I also teach electronics and app development.

This is just the kind of thing we need ,to empower people. I hope that someday in the future we can produce everything we need locally, and with very small environmental impact, including all electronics.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62777.23
ETH 3059.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81