You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Paedophiles.

in #science7 years ago (edited)

Woah, an old post you decided to dig up!

Well, I don't disagree with anything you've said here, except 'he will always be what he is'. That, well, I simply don't know. If my belief is right that pedophilia is a type of sexuality that is simply not accepted in (most of) the modern world, then you're totally right, and then there's a whole philosophical dilemma of whether or not we should change them, like lobotomizing a criminal.

But this also brings the dilemma of 'can people change', on a macro level? Watching 'a place for pedophiles' suggests that some pedophiles (whether or not they actually committed an offence' appear to change, even castrate themselves to try and prove it, but others do struggle their whole lives.

I dunno, it's just tricky. The article here wasn't meant to be absolute, it was just an attempt to make people stop and think before they condemn people to hell.

As for James Cantor, you may be right, I didn't dig that deeply, but the main point was trying to suggest pedophilia might actually be innate in some way. But again, I didn't dig enough to know if that's entirely known.

Sort:  

Well, I can agree that there may be pedophiles out there who have offended and can be reformed in that they can learn to avoid tempting situations despite that their inclinations will always be present inside of them. However, my main concern here is that I have encountered far too many self-appointed experts on pedophilia on the Internet; and not only are these people quick to slap others with false accusations of pedophilia, but they do not take the time to do their research or even look into any statements that others make in contradiction to theirs. I'm not saying that you're one of those people. However, it's very bothersome how there are so many people like that, especially in the English-speaking countries. As for Dr. James Cantor, whenever I find that a psychiatrist or even any member of the medical or scientific community makes statements that are questionable and engages in practices that appear to be suspiciously unorthodox or just uncanny altogether, I feel prompted to dig deep into their background to see if they have gotten into trouble for any incidents of professional misconduct or if other people in their field have challenged their beliefs. When Dr. Cantor made a statement establishing a so-called connection between left-handed people and pedophilia, that really set a lot of alarms off in my head; and that's when I began to look deeper into this man's background. Anyhow, I do appreciate you replying to my comment. I will be publishing an article encompassing this subject matter in the near future. If you want me to let you know when I do so, I can post another reply here to let you know when I've published it. I think you will likely be interested in it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50