Microscopy Experiment: Laser Sponge Water of DEATH - This is what you're cleaning your dishes with every day

in #science7 years ago (edited)

So there was this clickbaitey article I came across the other day about how kitchen sponges are so utterly filthy that you shouldn't be cleaning them at all. Instead, you should be throwing them into the fires of mount doom and replacing them with a new one from the Shire at least every week.

They explained that of the vast number of bacteria residing in a sponge after even just a single use, the toughest and most dangerous tend to survive when you microwave or dish wash the sponge under high temperatures. All you're doing is killing off the weak ones, giving room for the bad stuff to re-colonize and make you sick such as Salmonella and Campylobacter.

I was skeptical, so I decided, what better time to get out the old laser and have a look for myself? My sponge has been used for numerous weeks for washing dishes and surfaces and it's been left on the side since, so I figure it would be a hot bed for all kinds of deadly stuff.

I looked up a typical list of types of bacteria from wikicommons in an attempt to identify what I was going to find:

And, in case I see anything distinct, I grabbed myself this specific water-borne bacteria infographic:

I should say now that this is not the most fool-proof look at bacteria. There's a whole scientific process of bacteria identification that involves more than shining a laser at a drop of water.

But ain't nobody got time for that, so I whipped out the laser and syringe, filled it with juice from the sponge and had a look. Once again I was not disappointed; I saw some weird stuff in there that I didn't see even in saliva, toilet water or the cat's drinking water in previous experiments.

Here's a 2 minute, summarized video of what I found. Images below:

So first up, there's a whole bunch of circular, or 'coccos' bacteria. This has been a running theme in everything I look at, so clearly that's the most ubiquotous type out there.

But then at 5 seconds, 11 seconds and 20 seconds, we see things like this:

Baccy.png

There's nothing in the first image that seems to relate, but in the second image, I feel it has a striking resemblance to L, thiospillum, which according to Google should actually be thiospirillum

Definition:

' sulfur bacteria (family Thiorhodaceae) motile by means of polar flagella and common in mud and stagnant water'

Flagella are basically protein structures used as an engine to get the bacteria traveling around, like the tail of a sperm cell.

This sounds right being in stagnant water but I'm not really sure what the lump in the polar regions of my example is, but this is my closest comparison, anyway. There's surprisingly little information here, so I'm going to assume:

NOT DANGEROUS

Next up, at 36 seconds we have what looks like a diplococcus:

Bacteria in this form is quite common and I discovered quite a few that are dangerous, such as Neisseria which includes N. meningitidis and N. gonorrhoeae; Moraxella catarrhalis which can cause a variety of infections and problems; Streptococcus pneumoniae which was 'a major cause of pneumonia in the late 19th century'; and Enterococcus which can cause a range of things like UTI's and meningitis.

So I can't distinguish exactly what this bacteria is, but I'm going to go ahead and consider it:

DANGEROUS, KINDA MAYBE

Moving on to 51 seconds, we start to see some weird-ass stuff:

In the video you can better see that this appears to have a bunch of centipede-like hairs all over it, which is very close in appearance to H, proteus:

##Definition:

'Proteus bacilli are widely distributed in nature as saprophytes, being found in decomposing animal matter, sewage, manure soil, the mamallian intestine, and human and animal feces. They are opportunistic pathogens, commonly responsible for urinary and septic infections, often nosocomial.'

Well, that doesn't sound good does it? But the key work here is 'nosociomial' which means 'acquired in the hospital'. Usually, this only targets those with immunosuppressive conditions already; those very weak to infection to begin with. If that happens, you might get a UTI or some other non-fatal infection.

NOT DANGEROUS (unless you're already very sick)

at 1 minute, we get what seems to be a classic bacilos

The best I can do here is suggest 'proteobacteria' which, according to wikipedia, is such a wide phylum that it doesn't even have a proposed genus. Some of these are of course pathogenic, but I can't say for certain with its overly-generic appearance:

UNKNOWN

Immediately after at 1 minute 2 and another, even bigger one at 1 minute 23, we get some huge, long twisty bacteria:

You can only truly appreciate the length of this one in the video, but I believe this fits nicely into filamentosa bacteria.

Definition:

'Filamentous bacteria are normal components of activated sludge biomass. The existence of some filamentous bacteria is important and helpful for good floc formation to a biomass'

This is simply the definition I found most amusing to be found in a sponge, which you can read more about here. Typically, it seems most filamentous bacteria are not harmful, with some triggering some immune responses in mice but not much else.

To read more about identifying filamentous bacteria you can check here

NOT DANGEROUS, POSSIBLY HELPFUL

So there you have it, almost everything I found in my sponge.

What about the click bait?

Well, if you look at the actual study, it does point out that a sponge is indeed riddled with bacteria in this way, but there's no suggestion that the dangerous pathogenic bacteria thrives and spreads when you wash them. Generally, food bacteria is pretty weak which is why we cook things; it kills them.

Along with the helpful and harmless bacteria on your sponge, the dangerous typically don't survive on a plate after a rinse under some clean water, and microwaving or dishwashing under high temperatures will pretty much knock any dangers out. This is obviously true, or billions of sponge-utilizing humans would be falling ill every week.

Basically, unless you are outrageously immuno-compromised, you have nothing to worry about and just keep doing what you do... maybe replace the sponge more often than I do.

WhYkkh9.gif

Image Sources:

Types of bacteria: Wiki commons
Bacteria found in Water

Sort:  

...thats why i dont have a sponge. :3 I just rinse and stick it in the dishwasher. We use some in school though...blah. But we wash em in the washing machine with our work clothes quite regularly....now you make me wanna just buy 902380984 new ones. Blah...i do not care for you saying "harmless". Those feking things looked quite nasty. seriously....some are huge!

'huge' compared to extremely tiny things, sure lol...

Pfft, I've never even seen a dishwasher, let alone used one. Us non-US folk rarely get to enjoy such luxuries...

I am a non-US folk! :D I used to hand wash all the time...but when i gre up i decided no more lol. The thing got broken once......when u get used to luxury it is hard to go back. :D

Awesome work as always. I was really looking forward to this sponge water thing and you delivered quite well :D Awesome footage and great content and investigation!

Thanks! I have a few more ideas for this little laser series over the next few weeks; old cheese, flower water etc. Should be fun!

Yep, keep 'em comin' :)

I think this is brilliant. At college we 'cultured' a sponge which took about 8 days to 'cook' then view what we'd grown under a microscope. If only we could have has a similar set up - preliminary views would have excited us rather than bored us with the wait - filled with the dredge of note-taking. Toothbrushes, soap bars,etc were also used with eeeyukky results. As you say - most are harmless or dealt with in reasonable cleaning/cooking procedures.

Yeah to be honest I love that I discovered this. It would still be cool have an actual microscope but to get one with worthy zoom you'd be better hiring out a lab! So this is a great alternative for a few bucks =D

Next up, I've been keeping some cheese moulding away out of the fridge the last week =D

@mobbs yeah! Why I have never considered that until eventually now. Tend to be the animals immortal in advance of male fully commited sin???.

Good experiment man! I've also heard about this. Honestly I think it make sense that our sponges could have a lot of harmful bacteria.

But your experiment made me more at ease! Thank you @mobbs

Sometimes you just gotta see for yourself! But honestly I've already gone and bought a new pack of sponges...

Ahahaha, I can understand if you have seen those bacteria upclose lol

Reading this while eating wasn't a great idea ;p so, how often do you replace the sponge? ;D

Don't worry, watch my saliva one and you'll see bacteria is way more ubiquitous in your mouth than a sponge already haha.

Until now I just replace when they are worn out/too dirty to clean, which can be a long time if a good quality sponge...

so I decided, what better time to get out the old laser and have a look for myself

What do you mean by this? What equipment did you use to get the pics please?

You can see my previous laser episodes for more details, but I basically just shine a laser into a suspended drop of water which acts as a lens to give me about 2000x zoom.

All I did was buy a cheap laser pen, balance a used feeding syringe (though you can just as easily slowly drip it off a chopstick or something I dunno) between two cups and shine the laser through it at the wall for a large projected image. Simple =D

Bloody ingenious !!!
I'll check out your previous posts now.

Right? This is the first piece of theirs that I read & now I want to read all the everything just from this alone. My brain is like "yay, quality!"

aww shucks guys, don't let my ego inflate too much or my posts my have a change in direction!

"the old laser" btw (hahaha) i read it in your voice :D
Loving all this exploring the micro world and it's clearly keeping you occupied absorbing all this new info, i'm certainly enjoying reading about it.

It be so hard to live in a world where we could see this stuff with normal eyes. But i can get on board with just being aware of these things, kinda nice to know after all this time, humans and weird oblong alien microbes still get along side by side :)

Good scrawlings brother-dear :)

Congratulations @mobbs! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

@mobbs Excellent... Motivating and it will make me joyful to check out effort and resolve prevail. Adore it. Upvoted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01