You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The History Of Vaccine Series

in #science6 years ago

Don't they say "Dang" in Oklahoma?

I took a peak at your blog and noticed you are a practicing Buddhist! Even committed to the life of a bodhisattva. i call myself a-fool-of-an-almost-Buddhist. Last year I came across Jack Kornfields book, "The Wise Heart" that really struck a chord within my heart. So I'm in the process of exploring in greater depth the "practices".

But you fascinate me. You refer to your prepping activities. Something I do to. I mean how can one look at the world and not think we are on the cusp of some mighty transitions. Oh, well... I ramble. Have to go write! Too much "commenting" today even though I'm delighted to have found like-minded folks.

Dang! (could not resist) Off to write I go! Blessings.

Sort:  

Buddhism taught me real compassion, loving kindness and wisdom, something I hadn’t known growing up. When my teacher told me I needed equanimity my first retreat I asked, “what’s that? 😂😂😂😂 I’m a redneck Buddhist, Wild as a March hare ....I can’t believe I actually was befriended by a Korean Zen Monk who taught me compassion by putting up with my crazy wild ways. I owe Sunim my life ....I start tearing up thinking about how he helped me save my life (long story’). I stay on the Path just because he believed in me❤️

Growing up in the foothills of the Oregon Cascades you have to be prepared...it’s not really anything special...it’s common sense, the world will never be a safe place.

I enjoy talking to you, you feel like family😉

Greetings Reddust. I live on the east side of the Sierra's in Carson City, NV. Just down the road from the Cascades. My path to Buddhism has been a very convoluted one. I can't say I'm a Buddhist (to independent still) but I sure love all the teachings and practices I've come to know so far. Would love to hear your story of Sunim one day. Me? I was raised a Mormon but bailed out after 30 years of very devout service. I don't regret the years being LDS (too much at least). Once I left them it was a rather strange path to where I am now. Oh, and assuming you still live in Oklahoma, my father was an okie and came to California during the Great Depression. If you ever read "The Grapes of Wrath", by Steinbeck that is exactly how my dad got out west.

Anyway, look forward to sharing and getting to know you. May you be blessed with equanimity (Ha! when I first came across the word I had to look up the definition. Still working on it's application in my life, but actually making progress.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58015.02
ETH 2381.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42