Interesting Facts - Earth

in #science7 years ago

A few days ago I decided to start a new series where I list cool and interesting facts about various topics. I started with passwords, and today we are moving on to the very place that sustains humanity, Earth.

I plan on posting these every 2-3 days, so keep on the lookout for new posts.

I hope you guys like these posts, I do my best on adding only the most interesting and thought provoking facts.
Ok, enough with the boring introduction. Lets kick off this list with the first fact.

  • The Earth is the only planet in the solar system with tectonic plates.
    These allow the planet to adjust and move comfortably.

  • The Earth is not a sphere.
    Although very close, the Earth is considered an oblate spheroid. This shape is closely related to a sphere but consists of a more flattened shape.

  • There are an average of 8.6 million lightning strikes on Earth per day.

  • The water on Earth consists of 97% salt and 3% fresh.

  • One liter of seawater contains an average of 1/13,000,000,000 (13 Billionths) of a gram of gold.

  • 90% of all volcanic activity occurs in the ocean.

  • Approximately 99% of the gold on earth lies in its core.
    The estimated amount is enough to cover the entirety of the earth in a 1.5ft coat.

  • The estimated value of the earth's atmosphere is 4.3 quadrillion pounds.
    Based on the price of C02 (1.3 pounds per cubic meter).

This list is made of the most interesting facts I could find. I hope you guys enjoyed them, let me know if some of these surprised you.

Thanks for reading,
-Minrr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68988.65
ETH 3774.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43