You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: We’re One Step Closer To Nuclear Fusion - The Future of Limitless Clean Energy

in #science6 years ago

Your article is very positive, it's good from one side, but in my opinion the usage of another shape of tokamak is not really breakthrough. On the other hand stellerator may be a good direction e.g. W7X project in Greiswald, Germany. Personally I think that magnetic confinement fusion is not so good direction t o obtain cheap and safe energy. In fact fusion energy will not be cheap, and probably neither safe nor ecological. Be aware that in order to confine plasma one need a great amount of energy, specially developed materials etc. One can say that this technology has been being developed for over last 50 years, but till now there is not any working prototype. The closest to prototype level, the ITER project is far from working. Of course the post ITER project, the DEMO reactor is at design stage already, and is designed to be operational fusion reactor, but I think it will not work till 2050 or even maybe never.
On the other hand of nuclear fusion types is inertial confinement fusion e.g. laser based National Ignition Facility in the USA or electrostatic confinement fusion e.g. polywell. The last device mentioned by me can be a good direction. There is a reason why DoD is still financing it.

Sort:  

Years ago I had the opportunity to work on the ITER project at EPFL, but the ridiculous amount of bureaucracy, delays, and politics involved led me to believe it wasn't something I wanted to be a part of. I still love the tech and am excited about it, but I don't see ITER getting off the ground anytime soon, if ever.

Personally I think that ITER and then DEMO will never work. I really doubt that nuclear fusion is possible on the Earth. Those projects are neverending story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57030.30
ETH 2858.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62