You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Live from CERN - CMS got a heart transplant

in #science7 years ago

WOUuuuuu, now thats an interesting over my head post that I really enjoyed reading! Thanks for the hard work.

Now, just a question that bothers my head since school days...
Has a photon got any mass or not?

Steem ON!

Sort:  

The photon is definitely massless. That is a theoretical prediction. Even a super strong one, actually.

There are experiments trying to falsify this statement. They have however so fair all failed, and the resulting upper limit on the photon mass is something like 10-18 eV, which is about 1.7 x 10-54 kg. The information can be found in the 2016 Particle Data Group review.

Thanks for your nice comment by the way!

I shall sleep better tonigh.
thanks to you, my steem friend.
I shall press the Follow button

Thanks a lot for this! Do not hesitate to come back to me in the case you would have any question! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62963.68
ETH 3115.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89