Is weed actually worse than alcohol?? | MaceesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #science7 years ago


 "As has been well documented, I smoked pot as a kid, and I view it as a bad habit and a vice, not very different from the cigarettes that I smoked as a young person up through a big chunk of my adult life" - Barack Obama 


So it is almost impossible to compare these two substances together simply because of the fact that weed is still illegal in most countries in the world, which means that we don´t have that much evidence of the actual harm of pot as of now. But still it is possible to compare the substances in some ways including short term effects of both of the substances. 



Short term effects of marijuana 

 

  • Short-term memory problems
  • Severe anxiety, including fear that one is being watched or followed (paranoia)
  • Very strange behavior, seeing, hearing or smelling things that aren’t there, not being able to tell imagination from reality (psychosis)
  • Panic
  • Hallucinations
  • Loss of sense of personal identity
  • Lowered reaction time
  • Increased heart rate (risk of heart attack)



Short term effects of alcohol


  • Slurred speech
  • Drowsiness
  • Vomiting 
  • Diarrhea
  • Upset stomach
  • Headaches
  • Breathing difficulties 
  • Distorted vision and hearing 
  • Impaired judgment 
  • Decreased perception and coordination 
  • Unconsciousness 
  • Anemia (loss of red blood cells) 
  • Coma
  • Blackouts (memory lapses, where the drinker cannot remember events that occurred while under the influence)


So, comment down below which substance do you think will cause more harm for the people that consume it. In my humble opinion alcohol has more short and long term effects on a persons body and I would think that it is also worse for you. 


Thank you for reading!

Don´t forget to vote!


Sort:  

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/600655

http://boards.cannabis.com/threads/marijuana-and-super-duper-reaction-time.64680/

"So I have been a regular smoker since college and I am now 31. About a year ago while hanging out with a few friends one of them mentioned that she believed that because she smoked a lot of pot that she swears this has made her reaction time quicker. I immediately was surprised that she said this, It had confirmed what I thought was true about myself for many years. I had been noticing that over the years my eye hand reaction time was phenomenal and wondered if my smoking had anything to do with it. Others had seen some of my reflexes and commented on it as well. I still do things that amaze me after I actually realize what happened. Me and this friend talked about it quite a bit and she also stated that she noticed a huge decline in her reaction time when she stopped smoking for 6 months because of some stupid boy she was dating. After resuming smoking her reaction time increased."

https://www.businessinsider.com.au/how-marijuana-affects-working-out-2015-1

Yes, I believe that weed has a lot of benefits in life but also some negative effects as in every substance out on the market. Thanks for your comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64310.07
ETH 3504.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49