Scientific articles, what you have published is no longer yours...

in #science7 years ago (edited)


Source

Publish or Perish, the more publications the better you will be qualified and recognized.

In my previous post "So you wanted to be a scientist? Let me tell you what's happening in academia today!" I explained that for a Scientist and researcher, getting their work published is very important.

When at the beginning of my scientific career my first publication was accepted in a recognized journal I was very happy.
Of course my first impulse was to look for my name in the database to see my article and finally be able to boast of this, je je.
When I found my publication in the database and clicked the link to download it, the magazine replied that I had to pay 30$.
I tried again, thinking This must be a joke!!!
And again the payment page appeared to download the article.
For me it was a nasty surprise, so I went to the university library to solve the ERROR that I must be committing.

Mrs. Garcia, the librarian very kindly replied:
"Miss, the University does not pay the subscription of the magazine in which you published your article".
. - I would repeat: No... You don’t understand, I am the author! That is, the article is mine!

This patient Mrs. García asked me to sit down, and then she explained:
"The authors give up the rights to their works because they are supposedly rewarded by the recognition that comes with being published in a recognized magazine..."
With my puzzled face I said:
.- ¿Queeee? Can’t be!

While Mrs. Garcia lowered her voice as if it were a big secret said:
"The EDITORS control the system of peer review, which is a pay to play system, while AUTHORS are "forced" to publish their results in these journals because they need scientific recognition for the evaluation of their work. EVALUATORS confirm the value of authors and institutes they work for, through the consultation of databases (scientific production, the impact and the relative rankings of journals, generally measured by the number of citations received by the works). Finally, the LIBRARIES of scientific institutions and universities acquire the (very expensive) magazines to guarantee access to information.
But the growth in number and price of these magazines and journals is exponential so we can’t afford to buy all journals… "

.- So I have done my research thanks to my scholarship that is public money, if I want to validate myself as a scientist, I must give away my research to this magazine free of charge and they can sell it and benefit from my results. AND I DON’T OWN MY PUBLICATION ANYMORE!!!
Finally, I thanked Mrs. Garcia for her infinite patience in explaining the whole system to me.

From that moment I understood with disappointment that the system is abusive and we have accepted it as such from the beginning.

Is it stupid for the state to pay double, once to fund my research, and again to access the knowledge I generated! It's ridiculous!!!!


Source

While these magazines and publishers limit access to knowledge, they force you to sign abusive contracts, they speculate on prices to access information, and to top it all they publish results that are not reproducible and unreliable. It's scandalous!!!

In view of the above, the scientific research sector has evolved in recent years because of the factors mentioned and the progress of the technologies. Chronologically I present only some progress:

1. Open access

  • In 2002, the Open Access Initiative was completed, through three declarations BBB: Budapest (BOAI, 2002), Berlin (2003) and Bethesda (2003), as an international movement whose aim is that anyone in the world, With an Internet connection, can freely access (without economic, technical or legal restrictions) the scientific, academic and cultural information.

Knowledge should be available to all.

2. Elsevier boycot

  • Then in 2004 a group of 16757 researchers from prestigious universities such as Harvard, Cornell or California took a stand and issued communiqués inviting the boycott of Elsevier (the largest publisher of scientific publications). The movement was named: The cost of knowledge

After all, we are the scientists who must choose. Why cannot we simply tell Elsevier and other magazines that we no longer wish to publish with them? We cannot continue to offer our knowledge so that scientific journals and publishers can exploit it and enrich themselves from it without adding any significant value (not even the peer review system works, some journals have 50% of their publications that are not reproducible) .

3. Legislation to combat closed access.

Of course the decision to publish in journals or not is up to each individual scientist. But the system is clearly abusive and it is not giving the scientific community the benefits that it is supposed to create. The influence of this publication game is perverting scientific investigation and the motivations to share knowledge.
I think we should evolve as scientists and move forward with trends that make information freely available.
What do you think about the topic?

Sort:  

Yup, another good example of a screwed up system where the display of endemic profiteering in academia. Well, rather than dependent on "peer reviewed" status that comes with publishing in journals, I'm hoping more scientists will use Steemit as a platform to publish their articles.

That way, the authors will continue to own their works and at the same time keep the financial benefits that come along with it. Education and information need to be shared freely so we can build upon existing technology for the greater good.

Adopting a new way of publishing and recognition, however, requires a lot of time.

Now both processes of diffusion of knowledge coexist: The traditional one with the scientific journals already widely known with their practices preset since the seventeenth century. And Open Access, which really gets more and more attention. The open movement includes pages like Wikipedia and of course the publications in Steemit are a precedent in the evolution of the free access to the information and the fairer recognition of the authors

upvoted and resteemed

thank you very much!!

I have almost all my publication in open access journal/conferences. Other scientists can easy find my work and continue in it. I have many citation from Asia or Africa, from students. I can compare it it minimum citation of publication which I have in payied journal/conferences

Congratulations @lys! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

One reason why many of us are so outdated and dumb is we don't actually see quality vetted knowledge we find whatever Google wants to rank. Good article thanks.

I found that my PhD thesis published online 7 years ago on open access bases is plagiarized in Q1 Elsevier journal.
Don't know what to do now. Any ideas?

Hello
Thanks for your comment!
Unfortunately plagiarism happens at all levels and in all fields, not just in science. Maybe if you send a letter to the magazine you will have a record of plagiarism.

Thanks to You. My colleagues just said the same)

Who will feed the parasites if information becomes open-access? You have to think of them too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56523.53
ETH 2982.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15