You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fairweather Eden my "conversion" to evolution

in #science6 years ago

Was your childhood and adolescence under the apartheid in South Africa? did they impose creationist education or was it after?

You say teachers preaching about anti-creationism "should have known better" did they get punished for spreading a dissenting view?(the truth lol)

Sort:  

Yup apartheid SA. I wouldn't say impose creationism... evolution was just downplayed or left out of the curriculum.

The teachers that should have known better(IE) as educated educators used other subjects times to take cheap shots at evolution. In some sense considering it their religious duty to warn the masses.

I guess I should count myself lucky then, even in my country full of Catholics, evangelist and Jehovah witnesses, I never heard about creationism once in school, I was always taught science and Darwinism.

I did hear about creationism on biblical class but that was not in school, my mom took me there every Saturday but I usually escaped until she stopped bringing me there altogether lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64052.62
ETH 2530.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65