Downloading Consciousness So You Can Live On Forever. Would You Want To? Conversation Starter!

in #science7 years ago

I'm not gonna go into details about the science behind it, besides the fact that we are approaching it rapidly. Scientist have said by 2020, we could see this technology come to fruition . A good article you can research on the Stanford University website . http://cs.stanford.edu/people/eroberts/cs181/projects/2010-11/DownloadingConsciousness/tandr.html

Now, would you want to live on forever? Have your consciousness downloaded onto a computer, and installed onto a robotic body? What would be different? Aren't we basically doing the same thing now, but are consciousness was naturally "downloaded" onto a human body?

--For me, I feel like I would want to live forever. Ever since I was a young lad, I was fascinated by immortality. I realized from a very young age that life is too short to experience everything I ever wanted too. That got me into vampires. I knew If I could find a real life vampire, I could have a chance at immortality haha, I wasn't your normal kid.

What would you do with immortality?

I would live, simple as that. I would visit every city, every state, every territory, every country, every continent. I would love 1,000 times over. I would learn to play every instrument. I would learn every language. I would learn every subject. I would teach. I would live until I cease to want. Then I'd let my battery run to zero, with a note saying, "Plug me in, in 1,000 years." And I'd do it all over again.

-*** Follow @lukinsawyer for more awesome posts! Also I do free steem giveaways!!! So check it out, when I post them!***

Sort:  

Population and climate change along with pollution would be of even more of a concern if we lived even twice as long as we do. In theory we never die anyways, we just take on a new form of energy.

True, but if everyone did this in this hypothetical instance , when they died ( download their consciousness to a robotic state) It would cut out reproduction. Also, slowly killing off the human race.

Those robotic bodies would just take different resources and also require maintenance. I think we would have many of the same issues with robot body's and the flaw would be that they have a human conscious. How much energy and resources would be required to sustain a growing population of robot humans that never die. Would we forbid human reproduction at some point?

I love your answer, I would do the same.... Travel every inch of this earth and My favorite part of your answer is that you would love 1,000 times over :)
I saw a show about this I'm thinking it was in Black Mirror (but not to sure), I just knew that it was real and in motion in real life not just in the TV show. Thanks for sharing the article!

Thank you, I will have to look for it in Black Mirror :)

I have to check with my TV show Queen :) to get the correct name, episode, and season of that specific show but I'm pretty sure It's Black Mirror :)

Black Mirror San Junipero and also Black Mirror White Christmas. Those 2 episodes are the ones !!

Awesome!!! I'll have to watch them, thank you!:)

I ask people the following question:

If a pill would exist that give you eternal life without the possibility to ever die whatever happens, would you take such a pill or not?

The response that I generally get: "No, I do not want to take such pill since I cannot bear the fact that I continuously loose loved ones". A good point, and I think it'll be hard indeed to over and over loose people you got really attacted to.

Personally, I do not have a 100% answer myself. Being immortal, and never have to chance to step out of immortality, is something that is hard to imagine. I can imagine at some point in time, I do not want to live anymore, maybe that is already after 200 years, maybe after 1.000 years or even 10.000 years, who knows. I don't!

But THE argument, for me, to consider taking such pill is to be able to experience the complete transition of todays world into a full robotised world with AI passed singularity and see with my own eyes and experience with my own mind IF humans were able to survive; If humans were able to take the benefits of an AI operated world; If humans were able to find absolute happiness.

Coming back to your question, if I would choose for immortality by the ability to download my consciousness (mind) and plant it into a robot, my answer is "YES" under the assumption that when my mind is downloadable and uploadable, my mind is also deletable, hence my life can be ended at some point in time, preferably (maybe even required) decided by my own mind.

I would definitely take the pill! For the losing loved ones, yes, it would be difficult, but love in the physical state isn't forever, if it was, it wouldn't be so special. So I would ache at the loss of loved ones, but find joy in what once was.
I'm a believe in a spirit reincarnating itself into another person, So It'd be a mission to find past loved ones, in their new body.

I would like to believe, if this does come about in the future, that we would have the ability to delete our consciousness, decided by our own mind. If not, that's when things get tricky.

If not, that's when things get tricky.

It is a real possibility that this can actually become the situation. That we are not able to decide ourself. That we may be backup all the time into media that are not in our control, maybe they are in the control of AI? Maybe because copies of our mind are living in Blockchains? Since these are real possibilities, I have no conclusive answer. But I stick to my statement in previous message: IF I can control myself when I should be deleted forever, than I go for the dl/up thing. The pill is another thing though, unless we can also dl/ul/dl minds so that through that mechanism I can end my mind.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46