You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can we trust peer-reviewed papers?

in #science7 years ago

Your title is a misrepresentation of the point of the video however.

Did you notice I used the exact same title as the video? When I share content from elsewhere, I think that's the best approach so those familiar with the content may already know what I'm sharing.

But yeah, as others have commented, he was a bit hard on the pay per play (as he should be, I think) but maybe could have spent some time on how important open access to information is, if we can figure out a good motivational system to keep the quality high.

Sort:  

Did you notice I used the exact same title as the video?

Then his title is a clickbait misrepresentation of the point he is making in his own video. ;)

he was a bit hard on the pay per play (as he should be, I think)

Definitely, and he should be.

but maybe could have spent some time on how important open access to information is, if we can figure out a good motivational system to keep the quality high.

As I said above, there are plenty of examples of open access publishers with very high editorial standards. The issue is not with open access, it is with fraudulent journals.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60930.55
ETH 2367.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48