Time Is Not A Thing.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #science8 years ago

I've been recently digging into some subjects
with which I've only had glancing familiarity.
I'm not ready to say that I'm up to speed on any of this,
but I'll get there, and I thought I would put out a line,
and see if anyone bites. So here it is,
one of them anyway.

Time travel has always seemed an entertaining,
but problematic, if not flat impossible, potential achievement.
The solar system, first of all, is in motion.
If we were to come up with actual time travel,
and let's say you start out at Boston Common March 16, 2017.
We don't want to be too ambitious,
so we want to jump back in time one minute.

Get in, power up and bang, here we are.
We open the door and all of the air, along with us,
and everything not bolted to the inside is sucked out, into vacuum.
Suddenly, as we gasp for air, that isn't there,
and the water in bodies simultaneously tries to boil and freeze,
our last thought is, "oh yeah, we traveled in time, but not in space."

If we had a telescope, and weren't dying,
we might just be able to spot the Sun,
and a plane on view of the solar system rushing away from us.

At any point in time, each of our masses are moving with enormous velocities.
This is not even to mention the angular momentum that,
minus a gravitational primary, we would cease to travel
a path in the shape of an orbit, and fly off, as a bolas released at a target.

Recently I came across a new, more plausible thought process.
Theoria Apophasis, on youtube, seems to know some very interesting things.
I first discovered this channel while looking for some information on magnetism.
I kind of like his blunt, lack of social indulgence.

If anyone has any cogent comments,
please leave them below.

Secrets of the Cosmos: Defining TIME by knowing what it actually IS.
Is time-travel possible?

&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&

Images: i.ytimg.com/vi/NN1ytqVrylE/maxresdefault.jpg
i.imgur.com/QEB37og.gif
turingchurch.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/nikola-tesla.jpg
video: www.youtube.com/watch?v=C6LRx5Z8QiA

Sort:  

And yet there was a time when I had not read this post. There will be a time after I write this reply. And now, before you see it, I am typing. Once you read this, it will be the past.

As far as I can tell, there are field states and intervals, but a year ago can't be gone to, because it is a state that doesn't exist anymore.

I could be wrong.


www.youtube.com/watch?v=dJTTUROqHgs

That doesn't disprove time, it describes time.

I agree, but a description is not the thing itself, if, indeed, it is, in itself, a thing.

Interesting post! Time travel to the past is theoretically possible in certain general relativity spacetime geometries that permit traveling faster than the speed of light, such as cosmic strings. These are semiclassical geometries however, when a fully self consistent quantum theory of gravity is developed, who knows what neat, possible phenomea will fall out of the maths.

Heinlein said, "Everything is theoretically impossible until it is done.", while I don't think this is actually true, I understand the spirit of it. Feynman said, "If it disagrees with experiment, the theory is wrong.". This, I think is a little more accurate.

I've been looking at relativity too. Would you happen to know what happens to a spinning gyroscope in orbit? Does it's axis realign itself relative to the gravitational primary it is orbiting? If the space is curved, it has to. I've never been in orbit around the Earth, perhaps if I get a gyroscope and spin it for a long enough fraction of a year to see if it will realign to the curved space that is the sun's gravitational field. I haven't been able to track this down yet.

What you're talking about is closely related to the Gravity Probe B experiment, check it out!

I heard a great anecdote about Einstein not too long ago: it was well known at the time that a value of 43 arcseconds for the precession of the perihelion of mercury could not be accounted for with Newtonian theory. To Einstein's great surprise (and three days of heart palpitations!), the value fell out of his calculations using his field equations. It's amazing that the Einstein field equations are the equations that describe space-time: no free parameters, whatsoever!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84