Sort:  

Every little bit counts - that is the entire model behind distributed computing.

Does that seem like an abnormally low amount? I've tried a number of projects and if anything I had worse results. I think I'm covering the power use of only about the first 3 minutes of research each day currently =/

CPU: i7 4790 @ 3.6 ghz
16 GB RAM
AMD Radeon R7 200 series (oldish, I realize)

I started getting blue-screens which I traced to a dust blockage around the CPU fans. I seem to have that resolved and don't have any other reason to suspect the hardware.

Thanks for all your work on the project.

I would expect you to make more than 1GRC/day with that hardware. The GPU won't be able to do much but that CPU is pretty good. Try and point it at a project like YAFU which has relatively low competition.

You also have to remember that your magnitude builds alongside RAC, and thus takes a month or so to reach a point near the peak. A lot of new miners only do BOINC research for one or two days, then give up due to their low mag (you may already know that, I'm not sure...).

Ah, thank you. Yes, it was difficult to tell if my speed was ramping up or not. I'll take another crack at it once I clean up after the hurricane.

once I clean up after the hurricane.

Damn, I hope you are doing ok. Are your family and home ok?

We got lucky, though it's probably old news at this point. Storm turned east early and my house was (far) removed from the path of the eye. Lost a back fence but that's about it.

Actually, what GPU do you have exactly? The top end models from that line are still pretty good.

Oddly enough, I can't seem to get the exact model from dxdiag or Control Panel. Been awhile since I installed it. My guess is that it was on the cheaper end of this model line.

I can't seem to get the exact model from dxdiag

That's very strange. What does the display page of dxdiag tell you?

Here's a screen-cap. I'm fairly sure that every other system I've had (most of which, I've built myself) would display the exact model here, and not simply a generic series, but perhaps my memory is off:

DxDiag.png

I did update my drivers for Gridcoin, so it is possible it was displaying the correct model before. However, I did not think to check.

I'm fairly sure that every other system I've had (most of which, I've built myself) would display the exact model here

This is what I am used to as well, rather than an entire series being listed. I had a quick look at the R7 200 series on Wikipedia and it includes models from utterly useless to ones able to compete with the lower end of the current GeForce 10 series. Very strange.

You could just open the case and read the model directly off the card.

I suspect that would only reveal my system as a paper tiger with one of those "useless" models. It's fine with things like Civ 6, at least.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59583.90
ETH 2578.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48