You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Flavorful particle physics and the LHCb experiment at CERN

in #science7 years ago

LHCb experimental setup.

I read LHCb experimental soup
Flavors...


You can run the LHCb analysis on your Computer @home!
https://lhcathome.cern.ch/lhcathome/
using the BOINC network and virtualbox (you need quite a bit of RAM)
and then you can get "paid" for it by #Gridcoin
http://gridcoin.us/

Sort:  

Things are sometimes messy, but not at a soup level :D


Most LHC experimental analyses can be run at home and I encourage people to do it. I won't do it myself for a simple reason: my computing power is dedicated to my own scientific projects :)

Haha, I see!

I think BOINC will get a boost with now 8-cores being affordable. I certainly LOVE how my R7 1700 handles a game, browser etc. stuff and still runs 6 full cores on BOINC! For just 65W TDP!

Computing power is always an issue. Note that with an 8 core machine, it is very easy to simulate quickly hundreds of thousands of LHC collisions on your own machine for physics studies. I don't do this everyday, but almost (this is actually within my field of expertise) :)

EDIT: Note that this is not because it is easy that we don't need more computing power. Easy processes are easy to simulate, but we also need to simulate harder processes, we sometimes needs billions of simulated collisions and experimentalists often need to include an accurate simulation of the detector (which is very demanding in terms of CPU power).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62567.98
ETH 2460.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62