You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mavericks in Science: - Progress Can Mean Standing Up to Dogma (Part 1: Marshall and Warren)

in #science8 years ago (edited)

I would like to additionally point that there also are non-mainstream ideas refuted on the basis of scientific arguments. Those Maverick people (I didn't know the term before your post, thanks for that) then often use conspiracy theory arguments and ad hominem attacks against well-known scientists to continue defending their ideas at all costs.

I am not saying that non mainstream topics are all like that, but one can find many.

Sort:  

Thank you for your intelligent response.

I would like to additionally point that there also are non-mainstream ideas refuted on the basis of scientific arguments.

True but I'm not talking about that. I'm talking about ideas that are based on scientific evidence but the evidence is too inconvenient to be considered.

Those Maverick people (I didn't know the term before your post, thanks for that) then often use conspiracy theory arguments and ad hominem attacks against well-known scientists to continue defending their ideas at all costs.

Many people start with the assumption that they must be right.

I am not saying that non mainstream topics are all like that, but one can find many.

Of course and I'm not saying we should not be skeptical about new ideas but we should always be open to looking at the evidence.

Then we agree :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45