You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where is All the Anti-matter?

in #science7 years ago

If you allow me two comments to correct a few things ... ;)

Current physics runs on many theorems of symmetry including one of charge parity (called CP-symmetry.) You can think of this in the sense of a zero sum game, where if one positive charge (like a proton) is created (+1) then an equal and opposite charge (like an anti-proton) is also created (-1.) When these two are put together, they cancel each other out and equal zero.

You seem to mix CPT invariance (that can be proved thanks to quantum field theory arguments) and CP invariance that is actually not an invariance (the CP symmetry is observed to violated). You may want to check this recent article of mine where I discuss this in details.

The T2K Experiment is a collaboration across many countries that trying to answer the Matter-Antimatter asymmetry (i.e. non-equal amounts) by looking neutrinos, which are a part of the very small family of particles called Mesons. Mesons are made up of a quark and an anti-quark, compared to the larger sized groups of baryons which are made up of three quarks or anti-quarks (but not a combination of the two.)

There is a typo in there. Neutrinos are not mesons but elementary particles (and thus not made of quarks and antiquarks).

Note that we also have tetraquark and pentaquark systems that gathered a lot of attention during the last 10 years.

Do not hesitate to come back to me if necessary :)

Sort:  

Thank you! I'll take a look over those to see what I can do to correct things, especially on the CP vs CPT invariance.

Doh, I'll get the meson edited to fermion/lepton in there. My browser froze on me multiple times during this making it easy to mix things like this up.

[Edit: I think I've got those items fixed up now.]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60318.52
ETH 2983.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78