Sort:  

No idea. I'm not sure if it makes as much sense for other species.
I mean,

  • Penguins gather in a unique pattern and thus leave waste in a specific way that makes the method viable
  • it has a white background, making it easy to observe the waste.
  • they live in an inaccessible region which creates a need for remote monitoring

I doubt it makes sense to replicate the exact same methods for other species. However, other species may leave other marks on the landscape which satellites can monitor to tell researchers something useful. My guess would be beavers or something like that :P

I was indeed meaning, using satellites in general and not tracking other species like if they were penguins :D Thanks for the answer :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62170.06
ETH 2415.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65