You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Striking Statistics and advanced Information on Obesity - Human Energy Metabolism #5

in #science7 years ago (edited)

You state here for males that below 20 is underweight but almost everywhere else that I have been/read this it has been saying below a BMI of 18 is underweight for males. This brings questions to my mind since, from my most recent weighing I would have a BMI of around 18 (rounds to 58.6 KG and around 1.8 meters), would there be any major risks associated with being underweight that you can think of?

I am not replacing going to the doctor with this question and I know it is slightly off topic as this post is about being overweight. I have been to a doctor about my weight but when taking a family history it is noted that males in my family typically, even at older ages, are very slim and have a relatively low BMI. My question though arises at your new definition point of what underweight is compared to here and I was wondering if there is a reason it is defined as 20 and if there are known risks for having it lower?

Sort:  

Thank you very much for your comment and questions. So here we go:
Depending on the health organization/source referred to, there are varying degrees and divisions of the BMI. To keep it as easy to understand as possible, I have not listed so many subdivisions, but gave ranges for which they in general agree. The range from 20-25 is generally accepted as "normal" and the range from 18.5 to 20 is in some sources referred to as "slightly underweight". (1, 2)
So if you have a BMI indicatin a "sligthly underweight" state many physicians would view you as still fine, but you should try not to lose more weight or maybe even gain some.
In general being "slightly underweight" from the point of view of a Western lifestyle is considered as something quite beneficial for longevity. (3)
Nonetheless there are some links between being slim or even underweight to the development of some diseases. E.g. Chronically inflammatory bowel disease statistically more often affects thin than obese people. But it is not yet clear whether the underweight favors the disease or whether both are just symptoms of another predisposition. Finally, a clear indication of the relationship between general mortality and the BMI.


fendo-05-00121-g001.jpg
Source 3


I hope I answered your question!

Best,
mountain.phil28

Well I will continue to try to gain weight, in a healthy manner (as in I wont eat a super large amount of candy or soda pop etc and sit around doing nothing) and yeah you answered. The graphs are quite a nice touch, I just wanted a response more so I could upvote you twice to reward you accordingly.

That's very nice of you.
Wish you all the best!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63813.23
ETH 3435.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44