Immortality: when will it start and how will I want it to work

in #science8 years ago


If it immortality is we are talking about, the first thing that comes in my mind is "2045 Initiative"
2045 initiative is an organization of professionals of different fields of science


The organization's end goal is to create a Hologram-like avatar

So how and when will we achieve Immortality and how do I want it to work?
Based from the project milestones of 2045 Inintiative, By 2030-2035 we can already achieve immortality; Upon having the ability to transfer human's personality to an alternative carrier.
With the use of quantum computing, we can create an world/environment (game-like environment) the all these transferred human personalities can live together. With the use of virtual reality, Humans who wants to visit their 'lost' love ones can enter a dedicated server where the 'new world' people and the 'earth' people can interact with each other.

Sort:  

I can tell you, that's not how immortality will look like. Instead we will find out about the bugs in our DNA and correct them to stop aging. Further we will write new DNA code like in computer programs...

What stops us from building "backups" of ourselves then? If our body gets destroyed, we just transfer our actual or past mind into a new body. But I also think that our first steps lie in altering our DNA and preserving our youth through nanobots (cleaning our blood, etc.), adding new knowledge via brain stimulation, etc.

Aging doesn't have to happen in the first place, then you don't even need cleanups. And regeneration can cure any kind of destruction. Maybe the data of the brain can somehow be backuped, but honestly I am a little afraid of it. If you backup you can copy yourself multiple times. But who is you then? Are you fighting against yourself? where you not already dying if your brain is destroid, also if there IS a copy? Its just a clone...

If I meet my clone - and if it's really my clone - I'd fucking high five myself and discuss terms! ;-)
But it's really an interesting question, because the clone does obviously not share my conscious, or at least I have no control over the thoughts of my clone. Will we be able to "transfer conscious" from one body into another? I mean we don't really understand the conscious as it is... for everyone else an exact clone copy would be indistinguishable

I guess the discussion with a clone including same brain will be kind of boring.
"i think this..", "yea me to, I think that", "yea exactly the same".
The problem you mention is what I wanted to point out. If you copy your brain somewhere else, its not you any more. Its a copy of you...

Aging has been related to the accumulation of debris in the body, so cleanups are actually the way to go according to certain researchers.
An example:
https://www.fightaging.org/archives/2016/03/dna-debris-from-dying-fat-cells-causes-chronic-inflammation/

The body can cleanup himself... if you program dna to do it..., but of course it has to do that, before it's getting destroyed.

have you heard about " genome human project " ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65017.48
ETH 3454.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50