You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Better Understanding The Workings Of Hepatitis B With A Transgenic Virus

in #science7 years ago (edited)

As a non-biologist and non-chemist I always imagined the B and C viruses to be quite similar but apparently I'm quite wrong about this

They have a similar cell of infection the hepatocyte, however beyond that they are very different. Straight down to their genomes, hepatitis B has a genome comprised of Double stranded DNA, while Hep C has an RNA genome. Unfortunately I am not a virologist as such my knowledge of all of the specific differences between these two buggers is limited. But yeah, they are very different, its why we don't have a hepatitis C vaccine but do have one for hepatitis B. Thus there are not even similarities between the capsid proteins. I wish I knew more background info about these guys.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58921.34
ETH 2593.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43