You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bacterial Samples Obtained From Public Toilets Profile STD's Prevalent In A Given Community

in #science7 years ago (edited)

That wasn't what the publication was about. I did cite a NY times editorial which discusses that though, it's citation #3. :)

The answer to your question is, yes, in theory. You can pick up an STD from a toilet seat, if you had say an open sore or something. However there is no evidence that it happens readily for someone who just uses a toilet.

I should have addressed this more explicitly.

Sort:  

Thanks for the extra STD info. I kinda assumed that -- but was still curious for confirmation.

It is a terrific article and very clear -- about the purpose and findings of that study -- which was not about whether or not you can catch those diseases from the bathroom.

Still, I suppose it does kinda beg that question.

Thanks for your gracious and helpful response to my pesky comment.

Your comment was not pesky at all! It was an astute request, and I am glad that the information has been made more clear in the comments section. If you ever look at another of my posts and can think of more information you would like to see, please point it out. I can't keep improving as a blogger ( I'm honestly a novice still ) with out constructive input like yours. Truly appreciate it.

Thanks, 'pesky' not the best choice of word. I did get the impression that you appreciated what I said and thought it was a valid and helpful observation. Look forward to more of your postings -- and commenting along -- and have enthusiastically 'subbed.'

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63702.19
ETH 2490.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67