TIL that scientists discover that sugars in the mother's milk also serve as anti-bacterial agents for the baby. Another one for those who are against breastfeeding.

in #science7 years ago

I never thought I had to write about this, at least not in this way, but well ...

This video I saw last week and left me with my mouth open.


For me personally, this woman is neither feminist nor is fighting for the rights of any woman, is just an idiot who is following a mandatory script. To say that breast milk is not natural is one of the craziest things that I have heard in my life, at least so far (and how I see the future surely will be many more).

Well to change the bad time to see this video (although I laughed a lot of the woman, I must be honest with that) today I read a news of a new discovery. Scientists have discovered that breast milk, aside from serving as food, also protects the baby against bacterial infections.

In the words of the Assistant Professor of Chemistry Steven Townsend, who leads the team that made the discovery.

"One of the remarkable properties of these compounds is that they are clearly non-toxic, unlike most antibiotics."

The incredible thing is that it is the sugars present in milk that have this characteristic. Research had always been based on proteins, leaving the sugars as secondary or residual products.

"Our results show that these sugars have a one-two punch ... First, they sensitize the target bacteria and then they kill them. Biologist sometimes call this 'synthetic lethality' and there is a major push to develop new antimicrobial drugs with this capability."

A video about the discovery.

I do not think that the famous formula that the woman mentions in the video has the same characteristics as the natural breast milk.

What do you think?


To know more about how breast milk serves as an anti-bacterial agent for newborns here I leave the link where TIL about it


@juanmiguelsalas

Firma Gif.gif

Sort:  

It is a great news for breast feeding and now it will be encouraged.

Yes! It si a natural thing that womans have the honor to do ...

Congratulations @juanmiguelsalas! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63818.94
ETH 2624.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78