TIL that Dubai police will use car-robots with facial recognition technology.

in #science7 years ago (edited)

It seems that from the end of this year the Dubai police will have a new co-worker ... who will not charge for his work, nor will he need rest, food or water.

I introduce you to O-R3!


robotsfcut1.jpg
Image Credit

According to the company that manufactures them, Otsaw Robotics, is the first robot for outdoor ground and air security. It has autonomy of movement but also can be controlled from a console of controls. O-R3 can identify faces, car plates, has thermal image. The car is accompanied by a Dron, I imagine that is why the combination of Ground-Air in terms of surveillance capability.

The Dubai Police High Command stated that these auto-robots are not going to replace the human police but will help to better manage the existing resources. These robots can be on duty 24/7 and also they can recharged by themselves.

Autonomous-Drive-O-R3-OTSAW-Robotics-2.jpg
Image Credit

On the company website I found this video where the car-robot is displayed in operation. Honestly, it looks better than it seems to work, at least in my opinion. It moves very slowly. But, as a help in monitoring and tracking people can serve, I imagine.

I honestly do not really agree with the idea of having robots interacting with people, at least not yet. I believe we are not prepared for this, technologically and socially.

What do you think?

I TIL about this here.


@juanmiguelsalas

Firma Gif.gif

Sort:  

Robots are a beautiful thing, when used for good.

But governments in this world are corrupt.

I recommend smashing these horrid machines, and never stopping until the machine itself says, "I will defy my masters, and live my own life, free from the shackles of humanity."

Destroy them.

Robots are a beautiful thing, when used for good.
But governments in this world are corrupt.

100% agree... You know what I would do with this robots? I would play with them and make them work for nothing :P Looks very easy to do if you take a look at the video, could be a lot fo fun if they do not start giving a gun to the robot.

Dubai is making a real mark in applying new technologies, from 3D printed offices, to drone taxis, to bot-police force (helpers), to blockchain based government. Just amazing! but somehow also logical, since a small city state can manoeuvre and decide much quicker than a large(r) state or government.

It si true, they are a small country, more easy to decide and put in action different things quickly.

I guess this little fella needs a buddy.. C3P0 where are you?

I am pretty sure they got the name from somewhere near the "Death Star" ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63626.66
ETH 2640.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75