You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Poles apart - Pole shift vs Climate change vs Reality

in #science7 years ago

There's nothing wrong with ignoring the entire climate ordeal. Honestly I've done the same myself. Not because I don't care, but because the only thing we as individuals can do is be informed and prepared (along with being environmentally responsible, of course).

Obviously, the polluting of our air with poisonous gases by the burning of fossil fuels etc, can and should be eliminated. As you said, "The rule is, if politicians or ecologists or economists, astrophysicists et-al, tell us to worry about something, then that's the thing we should be least concerned with" (terrorism, Russian hackers, etc).

Taking things further, the MS scientists are warning of climate change, or "global warming" via CO2 emissions. Changes in solar activity, which in turn affects our magnetosphere, are more likely causes for this and any other detectable "climate change" we see in our future. These changes, in fact, are probably leading us towards a much colder climate in the near future (the exact opposite of what they warn us about).

Either way, I suspect man-made CO2 or other greenhouse gases will likely remain the scapegoat for more "carbon-tax" type regulations. And I agree, we're just along for the ride. Great post!

Sort:  

ty 4 ur comment @jschindler - I think I could have put it better by simply saying my eyes are glazing over. I think I'm more concerned with those things we don't know. Unknown - unknowns :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65897.19
ETH 2706.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88