A Conjecture On Chronic Pain and Depression

in #science7 years ago (edited)

Eventually I plan on getting to a discourse in regard to a special sort of aspect of the body. I think this will take me a year to get to, and a year to complete (this suggests I might not be fully viewing the subject scientifically yet, but I suspect the insight will hold and be very valuable). The basic idea is as follows.

Some people develop problems with pinched nerves, and they might not even know it. As an example, I did some research on shoulder problems, and in particular something called “frozen shoulder”. As I understand the cause in relation to an effective treatment isn't so well understood.

Frozen shoulder, also known as adhesive capsulitis, is a condition characterized by stiffness and pain in your shoulder joint. Signs and symptoms typically begin gradually, worsen over time and then resolve, usually within one to three years.

I think this might be explained by a nerve problem that evolved in complexity over time.

It seems observable that the complexity of (chronic) nerve problems might arise especially in relation to gravity and walking. Some people have nerve problems that eventually extend all the way to the ground and all the way through the neck and up INTO the brain.

This complexity arises especially because sometimes the effects are peripheral, and there can be either pain in a place that is not particularly where the misalignment is happening (or there could be no pain at all).

So a person with a complex nerve problem (ie chronic and nagging) might wholly be looking in the wrong “spot” in trying to alleviate the symptoms.

Now this might not have a DIRECT effect on the brain, however, it observable with many people that it CAN have a direct and significant effect on their lifestyle and the culture they surround themselves with.

So I really suspect we can indirectly link emotional problems and specifically depression to this kind of complexity.

The suggestion is that many people might be seeing the wrong type of therapist for different symptoms, whether it be the brain or the body that is in disorder, the symptoms might effectively be not at all pointing to the problem.

It means diagnosis without understanding this complexity, would random and arbitrary (very related to how a climate change scientist would be arguing for a specific economic policy, based on their own findings, but without ever having read a book on economics).

Sort:  

How strange that you brought this up today. Yesterday I got a strange cramp in my big toe. I had to bend it back with my hand. It spread under my foot and up the back of my calf. This morning my knee was numb. Then from the knee down. I started to investigate (Googling etc.) and about all I could find was sciatica something from my lower back. They also mentioned fibromyaliga (sp) which didn't fit.

Yes don't look for the single source of the problem...continue to trace it. Understanding the problem solves it. Cheers!

Thanks...I'm still in the mass confusion stage. I've had back problems since I broke it 32 years ago. All of the potential ailments sound reasonable at this point. Hmmm...maybe the doctor-Nah!

Yes I have an extensive argument for why these problems persist and why doctors chiros phsysio etc are effectively useless.

I can't present the solution, it is to big, and it will take me time to compartmentalize. But it is something like: go get a GENTLE relaxation massage that will help you explore different muscle and nerve issues.

Then go back to your childhood, provided doctors approve, start lying on your stomach when you watch tv and kicking your legs all around. Start crawling. Start making soccer ball kicking motions and baseball throwing motions.

Start DEFINING the pain, meaning don't move away from it, but be careful when approaching it. In other words we often free pain and stop doing a motion, but it might be that the pain is a product of lack of use, so we need to explore the movements we are uncomfortable with.

Sometimes were are unknowingly uncomfortable with movements but we don't feel pain.

Sometimes, and this is a key point, we feel pain, but we don't know it.

@berniesanders will crash the price of Steem

Are you some kind of wiseguy buddy?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30