DON'T BE SUCH A TRASHY BEACH

in #science8 years ago

We are only 7 full days away from the largest beach cleanup in the world. The Ocean Conservancy conducts a month long cleanup every year worldwide called the International Coastal Cleanup (ICC). Anyone can do it, and do research on what kinds of trash is accumulating on our beaches.

This year it is running from September 17-October 15. This is link for how you can lead your own cleanup and send data back to the Ocean Conservancy. This weekend, Pacific Whale Foundation (the company I work for) is partnering with Malama Maui Nui for the ICC kickoff event: Get the Drift and Bag it!

I will be at the Pacific Whale Foundation's tent with displays, one being an example of how a plastic bag would look to a sea turtle in the ocean. Sea turtles have a brain about the size of an almond, making it difficult for them to distinguish if it is a jellyfish, or a plastic bag. Since they probably have no idea, turtles will ingest plastic bags, but cannot digest them, therefore leading to starvation. I made this today from a leftover produce bag, water, glass jar, and blue dye.

I will also be making a marine display board! Showing different types debris and how long it will take for them to break down in the ocean. In order to make this, I went to the beach close to my house, which I will be moving out of soon, too see what kind of debris I could find. Within 5 minutes, my hands were full of this.

My heart was definitely heavier. As I looked further down the beach, I saw even more debris. So I went to my car, emptied out my reusable shopping bag that was full of craft supplies, and made my way back down the beach to gather more for my displays.

Honestly....

WHY DO OUR BEACHES LOOK LIKE THIS???!! WHY IS IT SO EASY FOR ME TO FIND HANDFULS OF MARINE DEBRIS!!???

Of course, not all beaches are littered with trash due to different currents and wind directions, but STILL. When are we going to start WAKING UP and doing something positive for our earth? The technology is there, the activism is there, the funding is not. The money is in the wrong places for greedy, self-centered leaders who continue to invest in fossil fuels and a pipeline going through a sacred reservation.

I challenge those of you on the coastlines to direct your own cleanup. It doesn't have to be extreme, you don't even have to do the whole beach in one day! Do it in sections, bring friends, bring snacks and reusable water bottles.

I even challenge ALL OF YOU to make a simple, environmental change in your household.

What are you doing to help the earth? I want to hear from you guys so I can get new ideas too!

Reduce your consumption. Reuse food containers or jars. Recycle materials properly. Did you know only about 25% of the plastic in the US is recycled?

Thanks for reading! Yay Earth!

~Jill

Sort:  

First thrown into the ocean the debris themselves - then cry yourself that is polluted! Are you crazy??? Stop throwing garbage in the ocean and everything goes!

I don't think people purposefully throw garbage in the ocean most of the time. Usually it's blown out of landfills, into waterways and into the ocean. How are we going to combat the polluted ocean since it is such a large issue? If there wasn't so much plastic production, it would be a different story.

You find out first, where to throw the garbage, and then indignant.

Steemon!
^upvoted!
I believe in This!
Thx 4 What You Do!

Not many beaches here in Nebraska but I do try to sequester all plastics.

We do have a pretty good recycling program run by our trash-pickup services. One large trash container for trash and another equal sized container for recycling. They recycle nearly all plastics except plastic bags.

The Walmart here collects the plastic bags and plastic wraps for recycling. Practically all of the clean plastics from my household get recycled. I barely put anything in the trash container for weekly pickup but I completely fill the recycling container for pickup once every two weeks.

The trash-haulers in my area combined their recycling programs with a recycling incentive service, Recyclebank, that educates about recycling and gives recycling rewards from various corporations and local businesses.

I can imagine everything needs to be pretty efficient on the Hawaiian islands. They must have an awesome recycling program there.

Steem on,
Mike

What are you doing to help the earth? I want to hear from you guys so I can get new ideas too!

I am growing my vegetables, try to consume local products as much as possible, use the train, the metro. Unfortunately, I cannot help with the beaches (the closest one being at most 200 km from home).

Good luck with your project!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71103.43
ETH 3849.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51