Basic electricity / introduction

in #science6 years ago
Greetings again to all the followers and readers, reviewing a little my blog I have noticed that I have not dedicated many articles to my professional career, thinking about that I have decided that it is time to share a little about what I have learned throughout my studies and work experience hoping that it can be of benefit to you. In this sense I will begin by sharing with you a course on basic electricity, then as God allows me I will publish advanced topics, the idea is that everyone can learn, even those who are totally unaware of the subject. In this post I share the introduction to this little course.

link

What was the electricity used for?

Electricity is the most widely used form of energy, because it can be transmitted over long distances, stored, and above all, transformed into other energies and vice versa. All this has influenced the improvement of our quality of life with technological advances such as: lighting of homes, TV, computers, mobile phones, watches, cars, industries, and many other factors of our life that can be known simply by comparing it with the way of life of 100 years ago.

A little bit of history. More than 2000 years ago the Greeks discovered electricity, by rubbing amber* with a piece of cloth, attracting small pieces of feathers, etc., in fact the word "electricity" derives from the Greek word "amber". In 1749 the first big step was taken when Benjamin Franklin analyzed tiny sparks of charged bodies and gigantic sparks of lightning, talking about electric flow and how it could be transferred from one place to another, that is, electric current. From then on there were great discoveries, one after the other, until today, and their different applications, especially in electronics.
Electricity! How? When you rub a plastic balloon or pen with a cloth, it is said that it has been charged with electricity, that is to say, that with the friction it has been lost or won electrons, and therefore when you bring it closer to a body in balance of charges, for example a piece of paper, it is attracted by the pen, or it can also do it the cloth!

Matter is made up of atoms, and these in turn are made up of electrons (-), protons (+) and neutrons (neutral), with different types of charges being established in the bodies: negative (more electrons than protons), positive charges (fewer electrons than protons), and uncharged (same number of electrons as protons), so that the atoms attract (different charge) or repel (same charge) each other. The only ones that move in an atom are electrons, and the flow of these electrons from one atom to another is electricity.
When we can extract the electrons and transport them from one place to another by means of a conductor (electric cable), the electric current is produced, being the electrons attracted by a positively charged or neutral body, establishing a difference of potential or voltage (V) between the charges (e.g. 220 volts), that is to say, "the power of attraction between the charges", which together with the resistance (R) that the conductor has, will be the intensity (I) with which the electrons circulate, that is to say the electric current. Three electrical values to be taken into account

link

They told me and I forgot, I saw it and I understood it, I built it and I learned it.
Confucius

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57019.68
ETH 2888.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61