Sort:  

Hi Jako,

Sure. I can point to you my old posts here, here and there for more details. It is self advertising which I don't like... but well...

Now your explicit demand:

  • The Standard Model is not a collection of all what we know about quantum mechanics. The Standard Model is a quantum field theory, which is not quantum mechanics. Quantum mechanics is a branch of physics by itself. It applies to quantum computers, condensed matter systems, etc... Quantum field theory of course needs quantum mechanics, but is different. I will avoid any technical details. I guess the examples above are sufficient, aren't there?

  • There are not 17 different particles in the Standard Model but 29 different ones (if you allow me to speak in terms of particles).

  • Stating that the Higgs boson was predicted by the Standard Model does not have any meaning at all.

  • 'Many more are predicted like the particle that carries the gravitational force' is just wrong. There is no such a prediction in the Standard Model

  • The way matter is discussed is super sloppy.

  • We have learned a lot about the Higgs boson (I wrote to very long posts about that). Saying the opposite is an insult to my experimentalist colleagues.

  • etc., but I stop here.

If one of my students would introduce me the Standard Model like this, he would have failed the course. I like people popularizing what I work on, but then they should do more than summarizing wikipedia.

For more information, you can also ask me directly on the steemit chat (in #science for instance). I will be more than happy to participate to a live discussion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63211.44
ETH 2631.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71