Zeigarnik Effect:

in #science7 years ago (edited)

Hello dear Steemians:

Did you notice that your mind remembers uncompleted tasks more than the completed ones?
For example: your mind keeps on repeating bits of a song you didn’t finish listening to, or goes around in circles trying to figure out how was the ending of a certain movie or a book that you didn’t finish reading. This tendency for recalling interrupted tasks better than the completed ones is called the Zeigarnik effect.
mental-health-2313430_960_720.jpg

Bluma Zeigarnik, a Lithuanian Psychologist, noticed that waiters have a better recollection of complex orders before the order is served, however after the task is finished (the order is paid), they don't remember the details of that order.

Zeigarnik did a series of experiments, and her research showed that the human mind hates unfinished tasks. The unfinished task triggers Psychic Tension in you to persuade you to finish that certain task. The brain is uncomfortable as long as the task isn’t finished. The tension can only be eased if you finish it.
horror-2914670_960_720.jpg

To be more effective and use Zeigarnik effect to your advantage, Scientists suggest that when you have a task in your mind, you should stop everything you are doing and start writing a plan of how you can approach it. Or, if you have a few thoughts and tasks in your mind, it is better to write them down, “to-do list.”, to empty your head and decrease anxiety and stress.

Sort:  

I did not know about this. I sometimes stop working on my software code before I quite come to a natural stopping point. I seem to remember it better when I start working again the next day.
Sometimes I think my brain works on things while I sleep. I often have uncompleted work that I cannot figure out. The next day it is very easy to figure out the issue or I dream of a solution to the problem.
Perhaps I sould write more things down so I can think about them later.

You're really lucky for dreaming of a solution to your problems :$ Thank you for passing by ^^

That feeling of closing things in order complete the circle and can forget that part of your life has sense but... it brings me a question to my mind... where is the line that split when you have to take distance from a situation that are bad for you or others and when just you have to stay for trying close things althought it can be the worse path...

Sorry, I don't know about that :$


شكرا للمشاركة الجميلة
ينبغي وضع رابط لمصادرالمعلومات و الصور
حصلت على تصويت من
@arabsteem curation trail !
و تم اختيار مقالتك ضمن مقالات يومية مختارة للنشر اليوم في مقالنا! :)

Congratulations @irisviel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62667.39
ETH 2432.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66