Sort:  

if only things we're that simple, I'd have an easy job! :)

Our story will keep getting messy, but it's worth noting that our diagrams and species lists dont' have to be. Paleoanthropology can divide into splitters & lumpers.

On one hand, splitters say that there are many distinct species in our lineage, that it looks more like a BUSH than a TREE. On the other, lumpers say that this means drawing arbitrary lines just to make more species. They'd rather group a bunch of these hominins together, like ergaster, erectus, heidelbergensis, and just call them all one thing.

The diagram I showed makes me look like a splitter, but you know, I think lumping some species together makes sense!

If folks are interested, maybe I'll do a post on this later: just how many species of humans have there been?

Sorry for late reply! Truly interesting info and insight, thank you for that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59010.30
ETH 2515.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45