You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Type of Sugar, In Addition to Amount Consumed Determines Negative Health Outcomes

in #science8 years ago (edited)

I would love your opinion on sugars that are actually healthy to consume like xylitol. Xylitol (currently from birch and corn) prevents cavities, and regrows tooth enamel, and restores a natural balance in the gut. Tastes exactly like horrific death refined sugars sucrose/fructose, but is a 5 carbon sugar so no insulin hormone activation.

Follow up later on https://hempsweet.net and see how we are going to scale the production of xylitol from a much better sustainable source ---- Hemp.

Sort:  

Tastes exactly like horrific death refined sugars like your "less dangerous" sucrose ( don't totally agree)

You posted this in a whole article about how sucrose is not less dangerous... :D

I haven't read any studies on the metabolic effects of xylitol to be able to give you a good opinion on it, sorry about that.

I can say that "restores a natural balance to the gut" is not a scientific statement. I don't know what a natural gut balance is, mostly because there is no consensus as to what a healthy microbiome composition looks like.

Thanks for reading and your reply. See you around!

Sorry I think my brain is numb from setting up steemit today; I have corrected my reply and will reread your post. Actually there is lots of proof of xylitol promoting a natural balance in the gut.....just look at the mouth and why it prevents cavities. It has effectiveness against h. Flu and s. Pneumo bacteria and why it is also successfully used for ear/sinus infections since those are two of the top three bacterial causes of URI's.

It's okay :) I'm glad you stopped by to read my post!

Sure, but I don't know precisely what a "natural balance" is! We don't know what a good microbial composition in the body actually is! We know what some bad agents are, but what ratios constitute good is so widely variable. I am hopeful that the large microbiome sequencing projects will yield some more useful information on that front in years to come, but for now the only thing we know is there is a lot more work to be done.

Okay, I'm definitely tired because I can now see where you ended the article with some great knowledge about sugar. I think there is also a bias I've developed from working in medicine for over 20 years, since that industry sold the health of the world down the river when they demonized the anti-sugar researchers in the 70's and spent 30 years telling us (Like Harvard Medical School) that fat was the cause for obesity, Coronary Heart Disease, and all the related metabolic disorders.

Sorry again for not paying attention the first time around. I would love to work with an obvious open minded steemian who has the science mind to help us bring a refined sugar replacement to the world. We at HempSweet think we can get the cost of xylitol to at least equal or less than refined sugars because we are sourcing hemp that can grow in almost any climate and produce 3-4 harvests per year. 40% of hemp is xylose and we are partnered with a refinery that make the most beautiful xylose syrup I seen. We have already seen the lab proofs of using candida tropicalis to convert xylose to xylitol and now all we need to do is scale to 30,000 plants all over the world. If you are interested in joining then join on telegram @hempsweet or email me at [email protected] .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60860.94
ETH 2672.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62