You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Design & Test Firing of a 4kJ Railgun

in #science7 years ago

Yes I am! I am always open to new ideas and am looking for external input! One of the updates I made to the design I discussed above was that I added an inductor in series with the capacitor bank and the rails. As you can very clearly see in the .gif above, lots of sparks blast out when the projectile made initial contact. After doing some analysis of the slow motion footage and some other stuff, it looks like a very substantial amount of the energy is being wasted as an explosion at initial contact. I figure that this is caused by the massive current surge vaporizing the initial contacts with the projectile since the projectile is injected at relatively low velocities. The inductor would allow for a gradual increase in current of the projectile which will allow it to utilize more of the rail area for conduction path.

Overall, this upgrade "should" both increase performance and decrease damage to the rails(the current pitting from a single firing is substantial). I put should in quotes because the word itself isn't worth a wooden nickle(fellow engineers you know what I'm talking about).

Let me know what ideas you have!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57360.64
ETH 3124.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23