Is the Pangaea Theory wrong?

in #science7 years ago

Several years ago, I was contemplating all the things I had learned about planet Earth and some ideas that were being taught just didn't seem to ring right to me. My gut instinct told me that what was being taught was somehow not correct.

The accepted scientific theory about this planet called Earth is that a long long time ago, there was a super-continent called Pangaea and that it was surrounded by water. Over time, this continent broke into pieces and those pieces began sliding around the Earth's crust and that they crash into each other and slip underneath one another to form mountain ranges and other geological formations.

What caused me to question this theory is the fact that there are fossils of oceanic creatures found in the rocks of the Rocky Mountains. If the Rocky Mountains had been part of Pangaea all along and were only pushed up into a mountain range due to plate tectonics, when was that land ever under water? Why do we find layers of salt miles underground? Wouldn't it make sense to find salt where an ocean had once been? In all the explanations about Pangaea that I had seen, not once was it shown that the continent was ever under an ocean.

This led me to believe that at one time, the Earth was actually much smaller than its current size and that the ocean actually covered the entire planet or most of it. Then, as the Earth grew, cracks formed in the expanding crust, and as low points, the oceans drained into those cracks. The cracks continued to expand and the land masses began to appear as the water receded into these cracks that eventually became the oceans as we now know them.

I thought that I was onto something brand new and was looking to find somewhere to explain my 'new' theory. It was then that I discovered that my theory was in fact not new at all! It had been proposed when I was just very young, but few gave it any credence at that time. I discovered a radio interview with Neal Adams, who also believes that the Earth is growing. After listening to his interview, some of the things he said added to my own inventory of irregularities about the Plate Tectonics theory and Pangaea.

For instance, Neal talked about the dinosaurs and how their fossils have been found everywhere from the North Pole to the South Pole. How if the Earth was its current size and had its current gravity, the bones of those large dinosaurs would not be able to support their own weight. He explained that using carbon dating, the age of the rocks at the shores of the oceans are oldest, while those at the center of the ocean are relatively new. Although I'm disappointed that I was definitely not the first to come up with the theory that the Earth is growing, I was happy to find there are like-minded people who have already done more research into the topic than I had.

Instead of regurgitating what others have said, I will provide some links that support the theory of the growing Earth.

This is a 10-min. explanation by Neal Adams; one that I found several years ago.

I found this rather slow scientific lecture while looking for the link above. There is a section towards the end of the video that explains how the crust of the smaller diameter of a smaller Earth must flatten out to adapt to the larger circumference of a larger Earth. This flattening will cause earthquakes and compression of crustal sections. This video also speaks to measurements taken by NASA that show that the Earth is in fact growing by about an inch (about 2 cm.) per year.

I'm uncertain if this is an updated version (with images) of the original interview with Neal Adams (without images) that I had found several years ago. I didn't listen to this video in order to save time and simply listened to a few segments to confirm the contents are similar to those I had listened to originally.

The 3 links above are simply links to the original content and I am not claiming any rights to them.

There are lots of very intelligent people here on Steemit and I would be pleased to read your opinions about this idea.

TextDivider1.jpg

I sincerely thank you for your input!
signature.gif
Footer.png

Sort:  

The earth is flat bro.

Yes, flat and getting bigger!

Oh my; I exceeded my bandwidth limit! Twice now.

I am a research scientist. Yes the Earth continues to expand. It does this in stages not a steady expansion. We are getting ready to see a major growth expansion. This will effect over 90% of the global population. Sorry I can not share any details but keep up your research. You are on the right path.

Thank-you for the encouragement. Too bad you cannot supply your current information. It would be fascinating to read. You have me very curious about the irregular growth pattern. That would mean the curve shown for growth in the video is incorrect and the reason for growth may also be different.

It is very complicated. Heavenly bodies (planets, stars, moons, comets etc) follow certain Electromagnetic rules of motion. We have found that there is a "Source" that can manipulate the orbits and movement behaviors of these bodies. This is way beyond our knowledge that has been accumulated in our dimension under current scientific understanding. Our data, is indicating, that Earth grows at controlled specific times that is being regulated by outside forces that exist outside our plane or existing in counter space. I will leave it there for now. Have a great week.

Thanks! You have a great week too.
Your work sounds totally fascinating. There is still so little that we know about the physical world we live in, let alone other planes or dimensions. My son tells a story about this 2-dimensional world on a sheet of paper, where an observer from above the paper talks to those on the paper. The people on the paper can hear the voice, but they have no idea where it is coming from, so they ask, "Where are you speaking from?" The observer simply replies, "Up here, just above you. "Unfortunately, there is no 'up' from their perspective in the 2-dimensional world, so they assume it is a God speaking to them from an unimaginable place. This could well be our predicament right now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 60880.00
ETH 2626.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57