THE FUFU THEORY

in #science6 years ago (edited)
Of the many wonders that were birthed, from innovations to improvisations, I can't help but be marvelled by the techniques used by our local craftsmen (or should I say, engineers). From improvised hybrid (saloon/limo/pick-up-like) cars used by rice smugglers (there's honestly no name for these cars) to improvised tricycles (I say this in Uyo when a ban was placed on motorcycles) to distilleries and refineries (a petroleum refinery actually), the list is endless. The fascinating thing about this group of people is that they have no formal education. They've never seen the four walls of a university, no BSc., no PhD., nothing at all! I can bet they've never heard there are laws of motion or thermodynamics, talkless of understanding the concepts behind these phenomena.

Illegal-refinery.jpg

image credit: Vanguard Nigeria

I was on a bus today going for CDS (honestly I can't wait to be done with NYSC). The journey from Iyana-Ipaja to Oshodi, was a long one, because of the usual traffic, trust me the hold-up no be here. I was considering whatever I saw by the road and something struck me. I saw a tire patcher (vulcaniser: the term is debatable) using fufu to seal the bead of the tire with the rim! For our non-African friends that may not know, fufu is a whitish semi-solid food made from cassava, that's ingested by first dipping into a suitable soup and swallowing.

WhatsApp Image 2018-07-25 at 15.31.46.jpeg
Fufu. Image credit: Myself

450px-The_Vulcanizer.jpg
A typical vulcanizer shop. Image credits: Wikimedia Commons, public domain

The spirit of science in me couldn't shake off the thought and I began to wonder and kept asking WHY? Like I said earlier, these guys have no formal education, so if I asked him why he was doing that he'd say it's meant to gum the rim to the tyre or something close. I thought about the myriads of physics and chemistry practicals these guys do every day without knowing the chemistry behind it. I still came back to the fufu application, checked the Internet and found nothing, save a post on wiki how that showed how to patch your tyre. Like others, it had nothing to do with the application of fufu. The post on wikihow, however, didn't mention any need to seal the bead and the rim again. These craftsmen wouldn't do this for no reason. I believe there's a purpose for the use of fufu.
I came to the conclusion that our #science gurus in @stemng and @steemstem could help explain this improvised technology. I know sey una no de carry last.

steemSTEM.gif



I want to use this opportunity to thank and dedicate this post to a kind patriot who softened my heart today by giving me a lift. It had started to drizzle and I was running to find shelter. I was wearing my Corps uniform, I guess that's why he was so kind. The first time I'll get free service for being a Corps member in Lagos.
Sort:  

This is an interesting idea that you've written about! I love seeing how innovative people can be when they have to be and when it will make their lives easier. It's an amazing thing to watch! My friend has recently created solar panels for his house but they are on a mobile rig of sorts that he can put in the house on rainy days. That's just incredible to me. Anyway awesome post with good insight!
Ivy

Thanks, @socent for your kind words. I too found what they do amazing, so I had to write about it. If only they could get some recognition.
Thanks once again.

I could remember seeing my late grandfather once, preparing gin (kaikai) from fermented palm wine. He had what I call an improvised liebig condenser and the setup was nothing less than what I was taught in chemistry (except for the crude tools).
I would have loved to explain to him his technology but, alas, he's no more.

We have technology in Africa.
#steemstem and #stemng should look into our local craft and technology and give better enlightenment on how we can improve on them.

lol.....I'm sure he must have been willing to learn, but his village people won't allow him.

I will leave that chemistry to the gurus to explain o...lol.
What is not chemistry? Virtually nothing! Did you try to interview one of the vulcanizers?
They could have a thought driving explanation.

And lastly, I am going to sue you for trying to hide from rain, lol... Have you forgotten "under the sun or in the rain"? Corps Wee!!!

Corps Waa!!! The scheme didn't foot the bill for the treatment of the last flu I had. "Under the sun or in the rain" may not apply to me sir...lol.

I plan on interviewing one of them soon and get back to you.

The scheme didn't foot the bill for the treatment of the last flu I had. "Under the sun or in the rain" may not apply to me sir...lol.
Lolzzz.. If you say so then.

Okay, I will anticipate a response then...thanks @getencored

This is thought provoking.
I think I know why they use the processed fermented cassava but I'll validate my point before posting.
There is this other practice they do - applying saliva over the valve after inflating the tire. That is done to ensure that the valve is closed. If its leaking, air bubbles will be seen as the escaping air gets in contact with the saliva.

I never really gave much thought to this although I see it done often. Do you know I used to think that it was part of the sealing process?
I have an interview to conduct...lol.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by getencored from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

hehehe

Africa is really and richly blessed. There is no limit to what the future brings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74