Sort:  

Thanks for reading and I appreciate your feedback. Would you mind citing a scientific study that disproves any of my points? Obviously my objective is to come to logically valid conclusions, I would welcome any evidence which contradicts any of my claims. After all, I did accept the climate scientists' arguments as valid. As I said, I do not have the time or resources to look at every study so I had to pick the most popular search results, which is admittedly a flawed methodology. Unless you are disagreeing with the climate scientists in which case that would be a matter for a different type of thought experiment (one where I do not assume that the climate scientists are employing sound science).

I would like to reiterate the point that NASA believes that there is a risk that the decrease in the Sun's energy output could be "overpowering" and so anyone who believes this not to be true is disagreeing with both climate scientists and NASA. Not me.

The challenge here is the matter is far more complex than the points generally covered.

The planet and its relations to its close neighbors the sun and moon lead to extremely complex interactions and results. Both heating and cooling with many wild swings before tipping points are reached. Believe it or not but geology weighs in on the matter, it has quite a lot to say about past climates and atmospheric compositions. However the challenge here is that the release of past sunlight stored in fossil fuels is not happening at geological time scales.

It seems like your point is that the issue is far too complex to boil down to one simple talking point. That is more or less my point exactly. I make it differently, by pointing out that there is evidence of a potentially contradictory trend, but yes I agree this is obscenely complex and people who assume they know what is going to happen in the future because they have adopted an overly simplistic and politically generated narrative are deluding themselves. This article is not about the complexity of the ecosystem it is about looking at what the experts are saying about that complex ecosystem and forming logical conclusions. None of what I state is my opinion. This is a logical thought experiment not an opinion piece.

Thanks for your input, I think we agree.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68227.33
ETH 2646.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70