When you sneeze does your heart really stop?

in #science7 years ago

For a while now I have been hearing from various people ( even a science teacher at one point) that each time a person sneezes their heart stops. At first I was shocked and then of course skeptical. I had to ask myself, does this really happen or is this another rumor that's gotten spread around by society to the point that most people think its real. Here's what I found out.

The idea that your heart stops when you sneeze is in fact FALSE and this is why.

When you first inhale that first breath before sneezing the pressure in your chest increases. But then once you exhale during the sneeze the pressure drops which causes an alteration in your blood flow. This alteration can cause your heart rate to change and make it seem as if your heart stopped momentarily. However even with these pressure changes and changes in heart rate your electrical activity in your heart stays the same and thus your heart has never truly stopped.

If you like the content I provide or want to see more feel free to sent an upvote and follow my way.

Sort:  

awesome post ^^= keep going !!!

Thanks man :)

you welcome :)

Good to know! If you told me otherwise I would been anxious. lol

hahha yeah, I remember hearing that from one of my science teachers in high school and I was like there is no way. Thank god I investigated.

Congratulations @foxfire342! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66158.45
ETH 3552.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61