You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Doc Talk #10 Viral gastroenteritis - A messy problem

in #science6 years ago

Hi, thanks for your questions I'm happy to help :)

Probiotics in my opinion are rather controversial, not their effectiveness but their marketing. I wouldn't take them in the form of pills unless I had symptoms that required their use. In that case I check which one to buy at examine.com It's an awesome website that tests supplements.
What you can do all year round is to eat foods that feed the good bacteria. They are called pre-biotics. I don't have any solid data, but I think that would be even more effective than taking probiotics ocasionally. There are limits to this, for example if you weren't breastfed or you had a course of antibiotics then I would take them in form of pills. Make sure you take at least 40-50 bilion CFU-s a day.

As for the bacterial diarrhoea. It's rather rare condition in developed countries and far more serious. It can come in form of food poisoning and then it's very mild or it doesn't happen at all in my experience. It's over withing 48 hours as opposed to viral that lasts up to week in most cases. Others forms of diarrhoea caused by baceria are not really of concern unless you had an aggressive antiobiotic treatment (C. diff. overgrowth) or you caught cholera (which is not likely to happen).

Thanks for the feedback :)

Sort:  

Thanks for your answers.
I've read that sour kraut, kim chi and yogurt are good probiotics. Do you know of other foods?

Amoebic dysentery also causes severe diarrhea. When I've traveled in Mexico in the past, if I got diarrhea I would only drink lots of water for a day to starve the amoebas and then the following day eat lots of watermelon to help flush them out. Seemed to work pretty well. Don't know if I had amoebic dysentery or something else. But the main thing is, I recovered.

You actually might have had that. That's pretty rare condition here in Southern Europe.
Any fermented foods are excellent sources of probiotics and prebiotics. I eat ton of Sauerkraut. Cheese is good as well (if done properly, but they don't come cheap). Any homegrown organic vegetables are good source of probiotics.

Thanks.
Do the homegrown organic vegies need to be fermented or is fresh or stewed ok for probiotics?

Fresh is more likely to act as a probiotic since in that way heat doesn't kill bacteria that are living on the veggies

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85