How To Use The Pomodoro Technique : Study Less & Get Higher Test Scores

in #science7 years ago (edited)

Have you ever wondered why some students can spend the whole night studying and still struggle, while others rarely seem to crack a book but continually bust the curve?


Source: Pixabay

I have recently read a book called DEEP WORK  by Cal Newport and I really liked his productivity equation

High-Quality Work Produced = Intensity Of Focus x Time Spent

I really believe in this equation. Personally, I can get a whole lot of stuff done by only working during a certain period of the day where I have nothing on my mind but working, while during other times, I hardly do anything even if I sit at the table for a couple of hours.

Thus, I started researching advanced studying/learning techniques that can really help achieve an extreme intensity of focus. I am going to be writing a couple of articles about these techniques, so make sure to follow me. with that being said, let's get into today's technique. 

What's The Pomodoro Technique?

The Pomodoro Technique developed by Francesco Cirillo in the late 1980s is a time management technique that breaks down work into certain intervals.

How to use it?

An average student can only pay attention for about 30 minutes, therefore, the whole concept of the Pomodoro Technique is breaking down your studying/work into 20-30 minute chunked sessions and then taking either a short break of 5 minutes or a long break of 15 minutes 

where you do something fun and get away from your studies/work. Everyone is different so chose your time as you see fit. Personally, I chose to stick with the 25-5 sessions. To make this technique even more efficient, you should give yourself a tangible reward at the end of the day. 

This technique can really help improve your focus and as you keep doing it, you're going to be able to study longer on each session, thus, improving the quality and quantity of your work even more.

Also, you should create a work environment dedicated only to work. You should avoid working in a place where you normally do other things especially the enjoyable ones like playing video games or sleeping because you are going to have a really tough time concentrating on the task at hand.

This method is one of the most basic/effective productivity techniques, thus, you should really consider using it also PRACTICE MAKES PERFECT.

References & Sources:  

https://lasolutionestenvous.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/ThePomodoroTechnique_v1-3.pdf

https://qz.com/752614/the-best-productivity-system-for-procrastinators-is-to-work-with-your-natural-tendencies/

https://www.lifehack.org/articles/productivity/the-pomodoro-technique-is-it-right-for-you.html

One more thing, Join the #steemSTEM channel, A community project to promote science technology engineering and mathematics postings on Steemit.    


Sort:  

I never knew that there was a name for it but i was always one of those people who breezed through exams. For me the two hours before was vital. Take the important points and commit them to memory which lets you fill in around them. I could learn more in two hours that morning than i would in the full week before that.

Concentration is always crucial if you ever want to study effectively

I’m busy reading ‘Deep work’. I’m a third way through the book. Really interesting!! Did you know that he wrote the book in 1 month? He achieved this fete through using his techniques!! Pretty impressive. Anyway, I’m glad you found the book helpful, I hope I do too

Absolutly,it's an intresting book,,In med school we had to study for long hours and I relied on this technique a lot,,I'm sure that you will find it helpful

Ive used this for the past few years studying for my math degree. I didn't know this was actually a branded technique. Love it!

I write over and over till I become automatic. I'd definitely try this method.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Fancybrothers from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Been looking for a new study technique recently... looks like this'll be a winner!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63051.22
ETH 2471.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69