You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chinese Pseudoscience: The Many Colourful Ways Chinese Medicine might Kill You

in #science6 years ago

Excellent read. I am super sceptical of Chinese medicine and other ’homoeopathic’ type treatments. I won't be nieve and say that none of it has any efficacy, but, I do have my pinch of salt ready.

I also had no idea of the extreme measures they go through to make some of those traditional medicines. Very unethical!!

Sort:  

I think one of the problems is that there are some that work. I suppose it's the equivalent of hiring an architect to build apartment buildings, where 99 out of 100 collapse under their own weight, but hey, one of them still stands! So the government pushes new legislation to follow the design plans of this architect nationwide.

Sounds absurd lol

I'm sure that more than 1% of the treatments work.

I actually like the underlying value of alternative medicine, and I believe that many substances and techniques may complement modern medicine In the future. Why not expand the toolbox and use both.

I guess the point is that there are no stringent trials and testing thatIs done on this stuff. Just because it is ’natural,’ doesn't mean it is safe or has the most efficacy. Regulation must be put into place which mimics those of modern medicine.

It's like crypto. Due to the lack of regulation, the space has given way to a bucket load of scams and shitcoins.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61191.20
ETH 2972.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48