You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "A day in the future": Nanobots taking care of our health

in #science7 years ago

it will be possible for all these mini robots to get together and create a collective intelligence between them
With all due respect ...I don't think so.
How does that follow?

our world is changing rapidly and 2099 will be more different than 2000 in comparison with 1999 and 1900.
That is an incredible...understatement.

The world has changed more (technologically) in the last year than it has in the last century.
A century from now is literally un imaginable. The future isn't what it used to be.

No one predicted the internet...no one predicted the blockchain. Hell no one anticipated the unintended consequences of a car in every garage (or televisions in every house) and the concept of almost everyone carrying a supercomputer in their pocket, which incidentally could also communicate...was inconceivable forty years ago.

the meshnet, the iridium system both currently under construction..will make it even MORE inconceivable.

let's not talk about Utility Fog...mindblowing.
or graphene...or augmented intelligence, direct neural interfaces, full sensory augmented reality....and many, many more technologies...in the lab right NOW!...

did I already use the word inconceivable

ahem.

sorry..

I agree with your fundamental concepts...but in my not so humble opinion you are being MUCH too conservative.

Sort:  

How does that follow?

I meant the possibility for them to operate in synchronization like bees for example.

A century from now is literally un imaginable. The future isn't what it used to be.

Indeed it is, but it’s always fun to speculate about it. For example, I am fascinated about the possibilities of reaching immortality and actually living in virtual worlds.

being MUCH too conservative.

I read you pal, so you wanna a more futuristic scenario for the next “a day in the future” 👌👍

I write books about it.
I've serialized several on Steemit.
one is in progress right now.
but yeah...I eat this kinda stuff up with a spoon.
IF...it's done correctly...and that's HARD.
tech is advancing at warp speed.
and sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.

yeah I do want a 'day in the future'.
let's say..oh...Waaaaaaay far in the future..
the year 2020...
...let's say that Elon has worked out the kinks with his neural lace...and that's it's as cheap as...oh...a widescreen TV.

oh yeah..assume that battery technology,solar cell tech, moores law, materials tech (graphene) 3d printing, etc..continue to advance along the present curve

how would that change daily life?

about the bees?
yeah..I can go with that.
in fact it's already being done.
as far as 'hive mind' and 'the borg'...
nah..don't think so.

Augmented intelligence (of bio-critters) however...is a given. Not if..but when.

wow I didn’t know you wrote books, please tell me where to go in order to read them!

Have you watched black mirror series?

I have some ideas about futuristic dialogues about synthetic human beings. I will make these posts soon. Since I also like to post about other different subjects. For example I am planning about posting some pics I took in the Vatican in my trip there :D

It’s always nice to read your comments btw!

Cheers!

I've serialized some of my books on my blog...
They're Speculative Fiction in which my characters encounter what MIGHT happen due to certain technological advances. I do a LOT of research on the technology. It's real....just a little more developed that what we have now.

'if this...then what' is the theme of my books.

I love it. We're getting waay into the future. Yes!

not really...maybe a few months.
everything he wrote about already exists..

And let's not "forget" about the unpublished (web, science journals, etc.) research done in laboratories/universities right now (until they meet all the standards required to be published). And we still have a lot of "old" scientific and technical concepts that have not been pursued because of funds, ethics, politics, etc. I'm still waiting for a moon or mars landing :D.

moon landing has already happened...perhaps you missed it?
I read somewhere that something like 90% of the published papers are not even read.

Who knows what lurks in the minds of men?

I've surely missed it, wasn't even born back then :)). Hope I get to see a moon landing during my lifetime. Wow, that fact I didn't know :| ... 90%? That's a lot of "waste"...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62108.38
ETH 2582.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57