Sort:  

It looks like the conditions are almost right.

what kind of siesmic waves would a 'spreading rift' cause?

I don't know, but the rift crack in April didn't seem to cause the same anomaly. I am guessing the wave was the smaller plate sliding off the low plate or some larger crack opening up much deeper.

how do we know it didn't?
wasn't it an accident that the siesmic waves were discovered this time? Perhaps they weren't noticed last time?

Possible.
Maybe I should ping the guy and see if he can look back at the April crack.

that might be a good idea.

I'll respond back when he does.
If he finds a similar wave for then, I'll update the article.

good idea.
suppose the two plates are pulling apart and magma (like the eye of the sahara) is pushing up. Isn't that what caused the deccan and siberian traps?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73