Sort:  

Refugee crisis, events in Syria, Iraq, failed attempt coup in Turkey, terrorism in Europe, split a continent because Brexit, spread the virus Zika and racial tensions amplified in the United States and that Donald Trump became US president and the tensions related to this are just a few reasons for that 2016 was a terrible year for mankind.

oh that..

none of which are pertinent to the subject being discussed...i.e. scientific discoveries

but since you mentioned it.

I might note that the zika virus turned out to be nothing much. (compare the total number of cases of zika virus...WORLD WIDE....to date...to the number of abortions in a democratic enclaves in one month.

Black lives matter! think of the children

...and if you're not an American your opinion of our politics is irrelevant.
and besides...I wasn't for Trump...but I'm starting to like him.
he's done more good things for this country in a few weeks BEFORE he's even taken office than his predecessor did in almost a decade.
and even that is irrelevant compared to the warm fuzzies I get watching my enemies go insane due to him.

The enemy of my enemy....is the enemy of my enemy..but sometimes are interests co incide.

I've come to realize that almost everything I read in the press and everything that I see on the news is slanted to the point that you could call it deceitful. I spent a year in Thailand in 1971...and four years on Crete from 1976 to 1980....and I can assure you that what I thought it was like in both places bore no resembalance to what I saw when I got there.

I would assume that the same would apply to you.

yeah...my point is that I think 2016 was pretty awesome, in most ways for most people it sure beat the hell out of 'normal' life two hundred years ago. If it bleeds, it leads is the operational principle of the news media...so they only talk about blood. Ten million good things could happen and one Bad thing...guess what they're going to put on the news?

I have no doubt that if NO bad thing happened ....they'd either make something up or misrepresent something that was good.

For example...here's what they say about poverty.
Almost half the world — over three billion people — live on less than $2.50 a day. At least 80% of humanity lives on less than $10 a day. More than 80 percent of the world's population lives in countries where income differentials are widening.

here's another way of looking at it.

if it bleeds it leads...if there is no blood...misrepresent something

Thank you for sharing your experience , I haven't had the real meeting with the world "outside" my country , but just from the internet I can see how many different viewpoints there are to the human people an how many people think differently.

What I had illustrate that point for me was the recent scene of a movie "Year Zero . ." there was footage of Iran ad I have to assure you what is painted by media can flip your worldview to a warped inverted look.

Much like the story was 10 years ago with the "weapon of mass distraction" and chemical before that with Afghanistan. It's hard for me to have a valid opinion of the middle east , but thing there have been sadly unstable for decades now , such a shame , anyways , I'm moving away from my point . !

Nice to know the impressions from you. In Europe we read something else about USA

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58415.58
ETH 2485.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39