TEDx Talks: The Mathematics of Weight Loss by Ruben Meerman

in #science7 years ago

Why are we told that to lose weight we must eat less, move more, and breath? Weight loss is not rocket science but it is chemistry and mathematics. In this video demonstration Ruben Meerman, physicist, breaks down his own experience with weight loss at TEDx Talks in August 2013.

Today I Learned Something

On average the chemical equation for human fat is:

Hfat.PNG
Snapshot from video

....

After realizing he was overweight Ruben decided to do something about it. He began to eat less and move more to reduce his BMI. He lost on average 85 grams per day.

loss.PNG
Snapshot from video

....

The biochemistry of weight loss is:

biochem.PNG
Snapshot from video

....

As we burn fat 84% is exhaled as carbon dioxide and 16% is excreted as water.

The Video

Ruben's 22 minute video contains several science demonstration that help to explain the chemistry and mathematics behind weight loss.

Source

The mathematics of weight loss | Ruben Meerman | TEDxQUT, 22 minute video published 10 October 2013 by TEDx Talks

Thank You!

If you like this post, you can upvote, follow, share, and re-steem this post. Thank you!

Sort:  

Very nice unique video @etcmike, allow me to share to my friends

A great share @etcmike!

Fascinating! I did not know that fat had a chemical equation. We have heard it for years, want to lose weight?...eat less move more. This video is great because it proves this simple fact with math. I have someone in my office on the next fad diet. I had a conversation just a few days ago about this and tried to explain that a 3500 calorie deficit is one pound loss, so simply use math to eat less calories and burn more by moving. Stopping the digestion process by intermittent fasting also helps, when we are not digesting our body is naturally ridding itself of toxins and fat. Digestion is overall taxing on the body. The most interesting part of this video is how he explains that breathing through exercise is the breathing that gets rid of the fat.

Thank you for this great comment.

I just got done with a short workout. I did not know how important breathing was to weight loss. I have a whole new perspective on losing weight and exercise.

I agree that fasting is important to good health too.

Enjoy the rest of the day and have a fantastic week!
Steem on,
Mike

Very interesting TED talk. Thanks

Great articel, thank you for sharing @etcmike

Seriously a great and rare video. It can break many myths about weight loss and dieting. Thanx for sharing it with us.

I agree, I found it very interesting. And I must admit that a demonstration with dry ice and liquid nitrogen always catches my attention.

Have a great week!!
Steem on,
Mike

interesting video. Amazing how simplified the process is really. Makes the whole weight loss industry look like a massive con

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65682.90
ETH 3579.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51